Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

One in the morning - 2008-01-22

I'm grateful for: a better evening; more little things done, and stuff cleared out; getting off the computer hours earlier than I have been.

Its approaching one in the morning. Practically early. I am unbelievably tired, except that it is entirely believable. And, I've certainly been worse than this in my life.

The evening was good. I played a rail game with TH (we shut the children and animals out except my great-great-grandmother cat) and won handily. We printed off a couple of S1's stories for everyone to read. He's quite a good writer, and that is not just my bias. I hope he is able to figure out how to get himself published - we've offered suggestions and ideas that we and friends have come up with, but the truth is that we are so far out of whatever is going on in the writing/publishing world I have no idea if any of them are even reasonable. In the old days you'd send stories off magazines, unless you were lucky enough to know someone. At least that's pretty much how everyone I know ever got a start.

A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away I knew people who wrote, people who wanted to become writers, and some who were quite successful at it. A couple of names even, if you read a particular genre. So long ago. I wouldn't know how to get in touch with anyone, and they certainly wouldn't remember me. I never regretted walking away from those people and that social group. Not even now, when having some contact might be helpful to S1. They were not nice people. *sigh*

Well, so we also tried to locate, and maybe found, a particular Star Trek episode that I want to watch, and have the kids watch. Now I have to find out if we can download it. As far as I am aware, it is not available on dvd.

I got on the exercycle and did really good for me. I probably worked for twenty minutes - I only set the timer for twelve, which is the goal I set for myself or a functional minimum. I'm getting my pulse rate up to the 70% range for a couple of minutes - the first night I barely made it to 60% and thought I was going to die. Just kidding, but only slightly.

We watched an episode of Columbo, and I did some work on my old desktop computer, and original imac. I *loved* that computer. I miss it a little bit. I took care of some software upgrades, and got some junk off of the hard drive. It started up in a fraction of the time it has been taking, so I did something right.

And here is it, only one in the morning. And I'm all finished on the computer, I have a book to read until I fall asleep. Hashem, please let me fall asleep.

Tomorrow is the shuk, and we are going. We need to. We are also going to the library if I have anything to say about it. TH has computer work to do, and I want to get the aron (closet) out of the family room and into TH's room, and a bunch of bookshelves into the family room. It should make things a little bit nicer in the room. I hope. And for TH.

Anyway, that's all I've got tonight. My mind is completely shut down.

I'm listening to John Anderson: Long Hard Lesson Learned

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06