Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Busy, busy, busy, rush, rush, rush - 2008-01-29

I'm grateful for: better days; candles in my room (I burned one tonight that has some kind of chip and changes colours while it's burning, crazy); hand weights.

It's feast or famine here, that's what it is. I haven't had time to write anything because I've actually been busy. And done stuff. Which is pretty cool, but frustrating when I have stuff to write about and can't.

I can't even remember all I've done and all that's happened. D2 has gotten her first ever apartment. And the housing agent has practically adopted her, I'm not kidding. He let her rent it without giving a first months and security deposit ahead of time. He's arranged all sorts of things to be fixed up for her (including a hot plate to complete the 'kitchen'). He even told the landlord to leave her alone and he would guarantee that everything would be all right when the landlord questioned him about some of it. I love how people are here, and I love how D2 seems to keep landing on her feet. It should always be so.

S1 is coming home on Friday, I believe I've already written that. We are just excited to death over that, and making plans and trying to get things ready as much as possible. That's a huge thing.

D3 got a job staying over night with an older woman who is sick and lives alone, a widow. She worked one night, which went okay actually, but then decided it was too much for her. No problem, but she was pretty freaked out about backing out like that. Scary, you know, at her age. She did fine, and it all works out.

S2 was told that he is almost ready to test for his drivers' license, and TH heard the same thing from his instructor. So major cool, I can't tell you. Whee!

Money made it to the bank in time to pay the visa bill after all, I can't tell you what a relief that is. And we now have a U.S. mailing address which means I can order thing online and not pay absolutely insane shipping charges. Coolness itself.

I've been riding my exercycle, every day at least once, but twice a day at least the last couple of days, maybe more, I forget. I've also started lifting some weights TH has - I bought them years ago and forgot all about them. They are not the pretty coloured ones but the old heavy metal ones. They work just fine. I am lifting the 8lb. weights straight up, but need lighter weights to extend my arms out to the side. Fortunately we have four sizes to choose from.

I've been working on my Hebrew, reading very simple books very slowly, which much recourse to the dictionary and some help from D2. I'm miles from fluent, or literate, but I can tell I'm doing better than before. At least I recognize more words and word forms, for what that's worth.

I've also been working with S3, on his English. He is not actually reading yet, but he is very close. He can recognize or sound out simple words, today he sounded out 'English,' which is not the easiest word there is. It might not sound like much for an 8yo, but it's worth bearing in mind that he is learning to read and write both English and Hebrew at the same time. His Hebrew writing is better than his English writing (by a long shot!), but his English reading is better than his Hebrew reading. He is doing great, really.

Sunday I did laundry all day long. I forget how many loads. Washed, dried, folded and put away. S2 and D3 helped me, but I did the lion's share.

I've had a bath and my hair washed today, that's two in one week. Yippee! And we re-did the family room. It's really rather nicely arranged, aesthetically pleasing while fitting more in there than we've managed before.

Books have been read, at least two of them, Silver Wedding by Maeve Binchy and Fragile Things by Neil Gaimon. I probably mis-spelled something in there.

I'm finishing off a short story book, The Best of Harry Harrison, and then I think I'm back to working my way through a Rudyard Kipling collection. Oh, and I also read a quick Judy Blume book - one that was new to me.

So, all in all it's been quite a time. I'm sure there was more. Stuff with my sister for one thing. But I can't remember it all now. My sister took S1 up to Vermont for a treat, I haven't heard from them yet how it was.

I have to stop now. I'm exhausted and I have to try and get some sleep because I've gone a bit nutty and probably driven everyone else nutty as well about getting out the door early tomorrow to get to the shuk, and library, and bank before S2's driving lesson at 11o'clock. I hate it when I get nutty like that. Having done so, I'd best try and get some sleep, so I can hopefully be less nutty tomorrow. *sigh*

And ride my exercycle and do my weights, study some Hebrew, do some English with S3, and so forth and so on. And TH wants to take me to the movies tomorrow night as well. What is he thinking?

Will try to read and catch up on buddies when I am less insane. Be well, all, and Gd bless.

I'm listening to Itzik Shamli, but don't ask me to try and write the name in English. He's called a hip-hop artist in Israel, but this is most definitely not hip-hop. Maybe soft rock.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06