Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Wednesday - 2008-02-28

I'm grateful for: a nice fire; learning Hebrew, however slowly; getting laundry done.

I woke to D3 knocking on my door, bringing me breakfast at 9:30am. The metapelet was on time (unusual), and we started out with general cleaning. I got out the vacuum cleaner and asked her to get up the dog hair. No problem. I got a shower and my hair washed (yeaa!), got some laundry done and worked on the Hebrew easy readers. I finished kita aleph (level one), so that's pretty cool. Read the first one in kita bet (level two), and she took off quickly. Again, unusual.

TH didn't go to work today, so he and S1 and S2 worked on building a new enclosure for goats. We want to buy a couple of does, (female goats), and must be able to separate them from the bucks. Or separate a doe or does from the all bucks except the one we want to breed. D3 helped also, and filled in some of the holes the dogs had dug in the yard. Unfortunately the dogs quickly redug the holes, and D3 rather lost her energy and enthusiasm for that.

I took a nap in the afternoon, and woke up to feed the birds and give treats to the goats and dogs. I'm not sure why, but I got the idea to have a fire, the kids were all enthusiasm, and we burned all the trash we had stockpiled for the next opportunity. We also had a bunch of extra small pieces of eucalyptus (sp?) so it was a fun, reasonably large and sweet smelling fire. We probably sat out for an hour or longer. S1 volunteered to sit by the fire after the rest of us went inside and make sure it burnt out.

While we were sitting outside the 'Tzeva adom' alarm went off both here and at the next moshav, which is only a couple of kilometre away. The moshav next got hit by at least two bombs, and we had one land either on our moshav or in the fields just outside. Later on checking the news it was said there were 46 rockets fired into Israel today, and 4 mortars, but there was no mention of the rockets that hit by us, so the total may well be higher.

I did read the NYT report about the Palestinians 'increasing the violence.' They followed that by comparing the one man killed in Sderot today with seven PA 'militants' killed with no mention of the number of rocket attacks or anything to indicate what exactly the were referring to by 'increasing the violence.' I didn't read the whole article, I haven't a strong enough stomach for that.

When I clicked on the NYT link, I commented to the family that I knew better, and I don't know why I did it, but I supposed I'll keep doing it until I am finally finished. Or perhaps it is something I need to do, if only to be current on what the rest of the world media is reporting. I dunno. 'T's not important, really.

I read I'm Looking For Kadak by Harlan Ellison aloud to S3 tonight, when I discovered he'd never heard it (or forgotten, it may have been a while ago). It is a really funny short story about a blue Jew from (I can't possibly do justice to how he spells it) Zuchmoon. He's looking for a last man to fill a minyan, Kadak, who left the congregation seventeen years previously - I'm not doing it justice in any way. S3 was laughing hard enough to hurt, and we were all enjoying it, no matter how many times we'd read it aloud or alone.

After S3 went to bed we watched a couple more episodes of Firefly. I got in my exercise, although I was much weaker than I expected (or like) and had to skimp a little bit on the hand weights.

I went to bed around eleven p.m., and should be asleep already, but there was a message from D1, so I called her back. We talked about her new job (receptionist for some diet program), her husband's lack of new job (he's looking for a salary which is a little high for the area), and what she could expect or would be expected if they were to decide to move to Israel. She says not to hold my breath (I'm not) that it's not something they would be doing anytime soon. Maybe in a few years. What can I say, I like the idea. However hard it might be on all of us, and stressful and expensive, I'd really like it if my oldest daughter and my (so far) only two grandchildren lived here near me. It's sounding like it might be possible. I'm happy.

S1 and S2 sat up with me while I talked to D1, and then S1 stayed here a little longer, so here I am, writing this at 2am. Again. I have to be up WAY early because I have to go to the lab at the health clinic for a test, and the lab is only open from 8-9:30. After that we want to get to the shuk in Be'er Sheva to hopefully buy a few chickens to replace the ones we've lost this year.

Then I have an appointment with the naturopath, we have shopping to do, and later on TH and I both have appointments with the chiropracter, and he has one for a massage. It's going to be a too full day anyway you look at it. Hopefully I can manage at least four hours' sleep. Or, if not, I won't be a complete basket case tomorrow. *sigh*

I'm listening to White Fang read aloud, an audiobook

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06