Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Not for the timid. - 2008-03-03

I'm grateful for: being clean; clearing some stuff off of my desk; burning candles.

It was reported in several newspapers - you can look it up, I can't remember the papers I found it in - there's a small piece about it in the Sydney Morning Herald, and I may have read about it in the J-Post, and one of the British papers. I *am* a news junky. Anyway, the reports say that Prozac works no better than a placebo - which isn't the same as saying that it doesn't work. I do find it interesting what is and is not reported where. I didn't find the news about Prozac in any American papers (not that I was searching particularly). Certainly for people Prozac has helped, it is a good thing, I'm not saying it's not. Anyway, it is in the news, and is probably worth checking out if you have a dr. suggestion that you should give Prozac to your dog. No, seriously. ;-)

The rocket barrage continues. The mayor of Sderot was injured tonight, in addition to several ordinary citizens. There was also an explosive placed in a tire (tyre) in a playground and found by the children there. Fortunately it didn't explode when they carried it to the security services. (Which they shouldn't have done.)

I keep praying. I'm doing a better job of avoiding the news reports that I need to avoid. It's not about the numbers of dead and wounded. I only wish it was. It's about one side targeting children in playgrounds, and cheering when regular people are hurt or killed in their homes. And the other side doing it's best to act like the good guys, while being castigated by the UN, other gub'ments and the world press, and dammit we have a right to protect ourselves! There've been over 150 bombs fired at us, that is me, my family, my moshav, my region, my country, in just the last few days. What other country IN THE WORLD would sit still and take that? What other country would bend over backwards to try to avoid civilian casualties on the other side while the rockets were still falling on their own country? What other country shows restraint on top of restraint on top of restraint while the rockets rain down (it's been SEVEN YEARS!), and is still branded as the equivalent of people who put bombs in playgrounds?!?

Guess what? There isn't one. Israel is not a nation among the nations - not because we are 'chosen,' but because the rest of the world chooses that it should be that way.

Well, Fuck that.

***

Okay, it's safe to read again.

I woke up when the metapelet showed up. It was a hard day. My tooth hurt, and my body isn't working well. Not surprizing. I did get a bath and my hair washed, we studied some Hebrew. I whined a bit, which is hard when you haven't got the language, but I did anyway.

After she left it was just an ordinary 'ima's not feeling well' sort of day. The kids kept busy on the computers, we all managed meals, S3 played outside enough I don't have to worry about his status as computer-chair-potato. D3 is feeling rotten with her period. Both S2 and S1 had moments of feeling miserable and like they weren't doing enough to justify themselves. Just a rotten day like that.

S1 made everyone homemade french fries (chips). Not me, or rather, I didn't have any. They are *very* good, I have to say. He makes them to order, so if you like them soft and squishy he'll do that, or if you like them dark and crunchy he can do that, too.

D2 made baked potatoes for anyone who wanted, and we filled out the meal with fresh fruit and various noshes. That was supper. TH put in a very long day at work, and didn't get home until almost S3's bedtime.

I had a long, long conversation with MS, a friend who is working on changing how homeschooling is viewed in Israel (at least by the Ministry of Education). And TH read some of The Fifth Elephant aloud to D3 and S3 and I. S3 went off to bed, I managed to sit on the exercise bike for twenty minutes, so it counts as exercising, even though it wasn't a real workout, and I didn't touch the weights. Body isn't up to it, but I'm afraid to miss a day entirely and have to start all over.

I know the day wasn't as bleak as I am writing, but it sure felt awful. *sigh* Tomorrow I theoretically finish the root canal finally, but I feel like I don't dare to hope. If it is hope. I just want it all to be finished. *sigh*

We watched an episode of Firefly, and the pilot and 2nd episode of Get Smart. The kids hadn't ever seen or heard of it before, and they were greatly entertained. Me? I'm glad they were short episodes.

I guess that's it. It seems kind of lame and bleak. Oh, well, tomorrow will be different at least. That's for sure.

I'm listening to Beethoven's Symphony No. 2 op.36 in D Major, by the Hungarian Philharmonic, Janos Ferencsik conducting.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06