Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Too late, too tired, sore tooth - 2008-03-05

I'm grateful for: flexibility (some, anyway); new stuff coming! (orders from the states); gradual improvements.

It's too late and I'm too tired for much of anything. But I wanted to be sure to write today, some things I don't want to pass over or forget.

Kurt died today. Kurt was our angora buck. I really liked that goat. I will miss him. We have two dwarf white bucks left.

The ironic thing is that we were just today going to see about buying a couple of does for Kurt. We did go to see the goats anyway. Unfortunately, our guide said they weren't any good (they would have been fine for us, but you don't argue with the man who got you into the bedouin camp, and is going to get you out of it *wry smile*).

He knows of someone else with a good dairy flock near Dimona, but we'll have to go check that out another day. Great sadness. We had plans. You know, man plans, Gd laughs. Well, I hope he's planning some other goat breeding program for us, 'cuz we really want one, maybe even need one.

We'd had plans for the day. None of them worked out except for buying fresh produce from the shuk, and that not so much. I couldn't go, having been up with S3 until all hours the night before. They were out of dried kiwi.

We didn't get the supplies for S1's ceiling, we didn't get to the zoo. My tooth (or jaw or whatever) is still hurting pretty terribly. I spoke with RS and MMF tonight.

RS and I ended up talking about my wedding (well, TH's and mine). I don't think we've had that sort of reminiscing conversation ever. Weird huh? We're always talking about dire and dreadful things that are happening now. It was fun. She had called to see if we were all right after the news of a house in the south being hit by a kassam. I had to ask 'which house?' Apparently what she heard on NPR reported a house having taken a hit. I know of two for sure, neither of them particularly near us, but they didn't give any further information. Was glad to reassure her we are doing just fine.

We saw a couple of helicopter gunships in the air when we were heading back from checking out the goats. Gives me a warm feeling inside. It is not the same world here.

Anyway, MMF phoned likewise to see if we were okay, and to chat. We also had a nice chat, oddly enough. Her husband works for a Coca-cola subsidiary, and the politics and weirdness that goes on there is simply legion. I didn't quite understand it all - she's lost her teeth, and still not quite clear in her head after her brain bleed (I don't know why they don't just call it a stroke, or at least come up with a better name). But it's amazing and amusing what has gone on there for the last twenty years or so. How long have I known MMF? Longer than that, for sure. Wow.

I can't think of anything else worth writing down now. I did exercise, but couldn't do it very well at all. I had to keep stopping on the exercycle, 'cause I just didn't have the stamina to keep it up. I did finish more than twenty minutes in fits and spurts. And I managed to do something with the hand weights. Again, not as much as I'd been doing before I took TWO WHOLE days off. Isn't that sad? Old age, or crippledness, or both I suppose.

I've got to close my eyes and try to sleep.

I'm listening to Sadehu, Itzkhak and Sigrit: Sayayniyich Transliteration mine and completely unreliable, sorry.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06