Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Busy, busy, busy - 2008-03-11

I'm grateful for: getting stuff done; one laptop repaired (one to go); nothing stressful looming behind me right now.

I can't believe how busy I have been. And am now. I'm typing one-handed on this computer while installing software on another computer with my other hand. Pretty talented, hunh?

We finally picked up the other laptop, the old one, and it came back with a totally wiped hard drive. So starting from the original software that came with it, I am slowly upgrading it back to where it was, roughly, when the old hard drive so rudely quit. Installing software is fun. Not.

Now I'm going back and forth as I need two hands there, and typing goes much faster two-handed - especially as I am/was a touch typist extraordinaire. No, really. ;-)

It's almost three am and I don't want to be up too late trying to remember all that's been happening. Long trip into J'lem to pick up the older laptop. Which I am hoping to have ready-ish when D2 comes home for the weekend.

Got a phone call from D1 - a crisis, of course. I called her back about an hour ago, as soon as I got the message. It's nothing I'm going to lose sleep over, but it is rather tragic. The father of my grandchildren has married a woman who is quite unstable. They are all living together - D1 and her husband B, C who is D1's kids' father, and L, the new wife, with her two daughters. Apparently L is trying to sabotage everything. Her relationship with C; C's relationship with D1 and B; not to mention her life and her kids' well-being. After the third suicide threat (and as far as I can tell, there's been at least one actual attempt), D1, B and C have demanded that she get some help (earlier they suggested, encouraged and stressed). C is going with her to an intake appointment - assuming she actually goes.

The saddest thing is that she is really messing up her daughters. Of course, that's the way it goes, isn't it. One daughter believes her mother hates her, and I doubt anyone knows what the other daughter things (she's less than two), but undoubtedly having a mother saying she wants to die and trying to kill herself isn't good. Master of understatement am I.

Anyway, I made a suggestion, I listened a lot, I told D1 I couldn't think of anything more she could have done, and I did eventually get off the phone. Of course by then it was after 2am.

I've got another ton of work to do tomorrow. What did I do today? Oh, yes, I finally got four and a half months worth of bank statement out of Bank Hapoalim - it's shocking I know, but that is how it goes here sometimes. So I reconciled my accounts. Also a statement from our other Israeli bank which was much less work. I burned disks for the younger kids of Harry Potter, and other educational materials.

I'm just being silly - the other things were actually 'educational.' It's just that around here we don't consider anything NOT educational. Although the fifth repetition of a Harry Potter audio book probably comes close.

TH and I have applied for a new mortgage, one in line with what the landlord wants for the house, and it seems we will get it. Now all we need is to come up with the down payment. Hard, but not impossible. There are loan societies to help with things like this, and also TH's employer virtually guaranteed that when the time came to buy a house they would help out. We can afford to borrow the down payment, because the mortgage payments would actually not be very much more than what we are paying now in rent (thank goodness for the weak dollar, just for that).

We've gotten the lumber we need for the next section of the ceiling in S1's room, and, and, and.. It's all just too much. Which is a bit frustrating because it is exciting to me to be so productive, and I'd like to write it all down.

And I'm doing all this while having grody flashbacks, which is truly no small thing.

Oh, yes, I can't believe I forgot that I drove D3 to her riding lesson. I didn't even try to get out of the car, but I drove there, and got to watch her ride (she's doing very well), and chatted with her new teacher. The old teacher, Aden, is off doing a police course (I believe it has to do with police dogs, but I could be way wrong), and has gotten in this tiny little woman - she's shorter than D3, who is only 13 - to take over the lessons. The new teacher is really great. Nurit is her name, I think. Her English is quite good, and she is happy to work with D3 in Hebrew, so that D3's Hebrew improves, which Aden wasn't. She really understands about 13yo girls and horses, having been one herself.

Well, I guess I'd really better try to fall asleep if possible. Shuk tomorrow, and hopefully the next section of S1's ceiling. And of course TH has his work to do, and I have computers to fuss with. I have a bunch of things to do on the original imac as well, if I can get to it. Too many computers, not enough brains.

I'm listening to Georgia Satellites: Sheila

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06