Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Sick - 2008-03-13

I'm grateful for: being able to sleep since I'm sick; new audio books; life flowing smoothly, if not exactly as I would like it to be.

Today, instead of being insanely busy, I was sick. It's a sign of how bad it was that being sick feels better. I spent too much time in 'the services' (which is what the Hebrew for bathroom/toilet translates as). I did manage a shower, even washed my hair! Go me!

I managed to stay vaguely upright, and even get a few things done during the hours I was awake, but sometime in the afternoon I stopped being awake. I didn't fall asleep, at least the way I understand it. It's just that I was awake, and then, some four hours later, I was awake again. Kind of creepy, and I missed S3's bedtime story, and all the work they put into his Purim costume. *sob*

I cried a little bit, feeling like a bad ima (mother), which I put down to being sick as much as everything else. I managed to wake up to go sit on the exercycle for twenty minutes. It didn't even feel like a stupid thing to do while sick. I didn't do the hand weights, though. Safer not.

I also think I have the smaller laptop ready for D2 to take away this weekend, as ready as I can get it. It has a bit of music - a bit more than 400 audio files, which was all I could do easily. She can always take down cd's and add whatever she wants whenever she is here. I also took a little time to delete some bootlegged files - no big deal, but it'd been bothering me that they were still on the computer long after I'd promised to delete them. They were for us to listen to some music and find out if we like it - not to keep forever. Good to be clear and honest - at least it feels good inside here.

It was a pain trying to find/remember how to get the thing to function in Hebrew, that was probably the biggest headache. And D2 has some extra software (only extra in that I never bothered to instal it on any of our computers) as a result of my not remembering how to do it all. It works, is the important thing.

The battery on the smaller laptop isn't good. It'll hold a charge for a bit more than half and hour I think. But I can't do anything about that, she'll just have to cope with using the power cord. Not the end of the world.

I downloaded a bunch of audio books from a free site for D3 and S3 tonight, because S3 really wanted to listen to something he hadn't heard a whole bunch of times before (good news). I got him Treasure Island by RLS of course, The Four Million by O. Henry, and The Adventures of Jimmy Skunk by Thomas Burgess. A good mix. Also I have bookmarked Mike and P. Smith by Wodehouse to download tomorrow. That's for us older people to enjoy mostly, although the two youngest might enjoy it also.

And that's it for me. No, wait, I've also been dreading an early morning dentist appointment tomorrow. Pray for me, it's the next stage on that tooth with the really bad root canal. I manage to forget about it for a while, but then go back to dreading it. I hadn't been being terrified of the dentist before she botched this root canal. No fun, this.

Sorry life is so boring here. There were some interesting booms today, but we guessed it must've been some sort of air-pressure thing with very high winds, as there haven't been any bombs for a couple of days. A nice break, that, but I've gotta tell you, any sort of loud boom, like thunder, has us wondering if/when the next one will come down.

Still, life goes on, and it's good. The landlord's son seems to be actually taking it seriously that our water heaters (both of them) are in desperate need of repair/replacement. And with an early morning dentist appointment tomorrow, there shouldn't be any problem having time to exchange the wood beams for the ceiling (TH brought home the wrong size), along with all of our usual Thursday shopping. TGIT, since Thursday is the end of our workweek. Hope all y'all had a good one.

I'm liistening to Bob Seger & The Silver Bullet Band: Bo Diddley

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06