Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Hopeful - 2008-03-16

I'm grateful for: The certainty of being needed; surviving uncertainty; possibilities.

I slept until 1:30pm today. *sigh* And I probably could have gone right back to sleep. I really didn't want to do that, and I am glad I stayed awake. We did a wonderful jigsaw puzzle, it was funny how every single one dived into it at first. We finished Danny Dunn and the Anti-Gravity Paint, S2 read aloud some Kipling, and we read the parsha, which is the first Torah portion in Leviticus.

S3 fell and scratched the heck out of his nose. If we were living in the U.S. I'd be afraid to take him out in public for fear of being accused of child abuse. He also fell over the child-gate we placed across the top of the stairs to keep the dogs in and smashed it to bits. I didn't know you could do that. He was fine after smashing the gate, though, no more bumps or bruises amazingly.

My cat is making the oddest noises in her sleep. I wonder what she is dreaming about? Really strange noises.

I suppose the biggest thing is that my mother called. I took the call and we talked. It was a mild conversation - I told her about Kurt (our angora goat) dying, and our hopes for buying this place and the freeze that broke all the water heaters. She told me about her Jimmy's cataract surgery and having the 'flu. It was still ghastly. In some ways I am grateful that I've gotten to know enough women online who have horrible relationships with their mothers, or just plain horrible mothers, that I know my situation is not unique or unusual. It's still awful. She's awful. Even when she's trying to say something nice (or so she claims) she just has the nastiest set of assumptions behind whatever she says. So, whatever. I survived that phone call, may it be a long time before the next one.

Then I phoned my sister, who had actually called me twice while I was on the phone with mother. RS didn't have anything much to say, which was probably just as well, I could barely understand her through the static. The phone was clear for the conversation with mother. Go figure. I told RS some of what's been going on with D1. It's just so hard to talk about. I need to push it to the back of my mind just so I can continue to cope with regular life, and talking about it brings it forward again. Well, now I'm not talking/writing about what I thought I intended to, and I'm going to give up on that one.

I also phoned FB, who had tried to call and couldn't get through. It was a guess on my part, I just figured he would try to call, and the phones weren't working well. So we talked briefly, not about anything in particular. By then I was all in, and just wanted to veg out.

Instead I went and sat on the exercycle, and did a fairly easy twenty minutes. I don't know what made it easy, it wasn't set up any differently from when I could barely make five minutes without having to stop and pant. I suppose it's the M.S., as there is no predicting how much I might be able to do on any given day. Then I used the hand weights, and then I got out my tube (I can't remember it's proper name), and worked with that a bit. Really good stuff.

We watched that Judy Dench movie that I rented. Something about a Scandal. Diary of a scandal, maybe? I'm so bad at names. It was a good movie, and I'm glad I've seen it. I love to watch Judy Dench, she is just good at everything she does. At least so far as I have seen. D2 didn't care for it, said 'why would someone make a movie like that?' I couldn't answer her.

TH is staying home and working from home tomorrow, because the dude who is supposed to be looking at our water heaters is supposed to come for 2pm. And if he doesn't come, then TH is supposed to call the landlord's son right away and tell him about it. So I am thinking about driving D2 home tomorrow, and trying to have a bit of fun with her. I don't know if it's possible, physically for me or if either of us will be up to 'fun' tomorrow with a long drive and work looming for her. Maybe I'll be able to write about it tomorrow.

D3 made Hamentashen (Oznei Haman in Israel) on Friday and the came out really well. Yum! I managed a bath and TH washed my hair. S2 got all the laundry done, all the kids cleaned and vacuumed. D3 changed the linens on my bed. The dogs patrolled, the cats kept the dogs in order, and we watched the movie Becoming Jane. Which was also a very good movie, if not as good as tonight's. We had to watch the movies as they were rented and due back on Sunday. Tomorrow. Tomorrow night we'll be back to our regularly scheduled Columbo episode, I guess.

My life isn't boring, it's just how i write. ;-7 So I'm off, must try to sleep if I am going to have a big day out tomorrow.

I'm listening to Coldplay: Talk - Live in Holland

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06