Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Places to go and things to do - 2008-03-17

I'm grateful for: lots of pillows; eating better and feeling full; aching from an active day. I need to not be too hard on myself for that last entry. It helps to remember that English is not my first language, and I've never been fully comfortable in it. Still, I hate it that I can't write well, or even better than that. *sigh*

So, today was a long day, and a lot of fun I guess. I didn't get any sleep again last night - S3 woke up several times, cold, scared, thirsty. The cat kept scratching at my door, to be let out, then in again. So that I was awake around 7am is just an act of Hashem.

I dozed for a couple of hours, then got up, and got ready to go out. I drove D2 home to her apartment, and D3 went with us. We visited an outlet mall, and had pizza and garlic bread, then shopped along a street of many small shops. I got a rainbow 'rasta' hat with fake dreads hanging down the back for my Purim costume, fun. D3 also found a wig. We picked up canvasses for S1 to paint and put gas in the car (something I almost never do). We drove D2 to work, and D3 and I came home. It was a lot of fun and a very long day. When we got home I was just a loose sack of bones (and fat) in the car. I managed to make it to my bed, but, oh, I was SO tired.

After a rest and supper we watched a Columbo episode - we're almost to the end, amazing and a bit sad.

Other than that I've had thoughts about people and their value percolating through my head all day, most recently provoked by a friend of mine in Texas (who has never been on d'land, you none of you would know her), who was feeling worthless and a failure. This is an extraordinary woman who has survived some tremendous hardships and bad situations, who was the sole support of her sister and nieces and their children for decades. She is disabled now, and all of those family members will have nothing to do with her. And she questions her worth.

It's a theme that has cropped up in other conversations and other places for me lately. I just really wish I could write. Ah, well. I have other gifts, I guess.

Tomorrow there is absolutely nothing I have to do. All day. And all evening. How did that happen? I'd like to bathe. I want to get out and feed the chickens. But if none of that happens, then perhaps I can just devote the day to resting and sleeping, so I am more able to cope on Tuesday, when I do have places to go and things to do.

Oh, yes, and TH was a complete and unbelievable asshole today. Not worth going into right now, and I don't want to. But he really was. Just for the record.

I'm listening to David Naughton: Makin' It

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06