Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

TH's birthday - 2008-03-24

I'm grateful for: Exercising today, even if it didn't go as well as yesterday; getting this Harry Potter thing done; things fixed and improved.

Today went well I suppose. TH not only got the front door working, but he installed a new switch for the electric hot water heater.

I missed a lot of the day between sleeping and reliving the past, but I did finally finish The Day Watch. It's the second book of a trilogy by a Russian writer. Lukyenko. I wrote that from memory, so no promises about the spelling. It really is very good. The third has just been issued in English translation I heard, so next time we're in Be'er Sheva I want to order it. The first book is The Night Watch, and the last book, is, I think, The Twilight Watch. I'm looking forward to it. In the meantime I've started a Nick Hornby book Fever Pitch. I've really liked the other books of his I've read, so I'm very hopeful about this one.

I'm also busy copying the disks of Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix to my computer. For whatever reason they issued them in a 23 disk set, which is ridiculous for us - the disks would simply vanish and then where are we? So I'm going to burn the story to a couple (I hope a couple) of mp3 disks. If it could fit on just one, that would be even better. This is an annoying job because for whatever reason my laptop won't read or sometimes won't import the disks, so I have to do it all on my desktop computer. What is annoying about that is I have no chair that fits in front of my desk, so I end up sitting on the edge of my bed which is too far away to be comfortable. My room is still a work in progress. Someday, TH and I will move out to the small house, just he and I, and that will be much better. No stairs, and I can keep all the clutter here in the big house.

Anyway, one other thing TH managed to do today is to get my bed on taller legs, so now I can sit in bed, and use my bed table on wheels that he had built. This bed was much lower than my old one, so it wasn't working. There's now more room in my room, and my dogs are very happy that they can now lie under my bed. Dogs.

For anyone living where there is a slightly more reasonable climate let me explain that the dogs don't want to sleep ON my bed, it's just too hot. The floor is tile, which is better in this ridiculous heat. And being able to be in a 'den' under my bed just makes it that much better for them.

The hot desert wind, the sharav, is supposed to fall off tomorrow, and temps return to the range whereat people and dogs can possibly survive. It's actually not been anywhere near as hot as it will get, which is a truly depressing thought. I don't think it got to 40C here. Yet.

I've gotten to the end of the Harry Potter, the last disk is importing now. I have to go back and do two or three more which didn't go quite right, but that is nothing. The kids will be happy, I will be happy, and that's all good.

TH's birthday celebration was marred by my bed breaking just as we were starting. Other than that it went well. The birthday cake D3 made was really good. We (myself and three or four of the kids, I forget) had picked out a wrist watch which TH had told me he particularly wanted. S1 printed off a manuscript for TH, his own alternative history in which most of his stories take place. S3 gave him a hug coupon. Too cute. Oh, and S2 had sent him an e-card. D2 gave him a paperback, I think it was science fiction. Nothing like the birthday celebrations we used to do in the states, I'll tell you that. Better in some ways, since it's not all about the stuff. Not that stuff isn't nice ...

I'm feeling sad and small and sorry for myself. It's these memories. The only way out is through. I have to look at them, relive them, feel them, in order for them to fade away and become a part of the deep, dark past where they belong. The joys of repression, yeah. I talked with RS for an hour or more, I even told her a bit about my memories, which I almost never do. There's so much behind that that I couldn't begin to write it. I'm starting to think one of the biggest difference is that I was bought by one person, and stayed with him for many years, whereas she seems to have never stayed with anyone for any length of time, and has only this endless series of strange faces in her past.

I developed a relationship, relationships actually because it wasn't just my favourite perp, but also members of his household and people he associated with closely for any length of time. And I had this contrast of a real life there, vs. the real life in my mother's home. RS hadn't a real life there, only at mother's. Ooh, that's a particularly yuck thought. I am glad that she and I are able to have a good relationship finally. It didn't seem likely, that's for sure.

It's 2:30am, and time for me to stop this and do something else. Not sleep, not just yet, but soon I hope.

I'm listening to Three Dog Night: Let Me Serenade You

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06