Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

No internet - 2008-03-25

I'm grateful for: sex; talking some things through; a bit of a getaway.

It's odd to be typing this without the little white diaryland box. I'm in a cottage at a bed & breakfast in Mitzpe Ramon. Very nice here, pretty, quiet. It's billed as an alpaca farm, it's rather more with alpacas, llamas, camels (two that we saw), angora goats, geese, turkeys, chickens (of course), horses and probably more critters I didn't have a chance to see. Rabbits and guinea pigs (cavies) for sure.

It's beautifully quiet and still here, except for the barking dogs. The dogs weren't barking before, but are a bit now. It's even quieter than the moshav where I live. Since where I live is a genuine agricultural moshav it is anything but quiet of course. There the big trucks hauling potatoes and fertilizer and whatnot, the tractors, people shouting back and forth, dogs barking, chickens crowing and so forth. Really at all hours, which you wouldn't think since in New England there is an actual time when people stop working, at least outside the houses. Here, not so much.

All the news is full of the looming water shortage. It's hard to imagine people being more wasteful of water than they are here in this desert country, but perhaps it's just more noticeable since it is a desert. On our moshav people can be quite good about recycling household water, using grey water for the lawns, gardens, and household fields, while continuing to spray water in the air in the afternoons,on the farm fields, despite the fact that Israel is where drip irrigation was pioneered. Sometimes you just can't teach an old Moroccan farmer new tricks.

Well, we're here in Mitzpe Ramon because it is our anniversary. TH and I have been married 26 years. Nothing record-breaking although it is the longest of any of our friends from way-back-when. We were married first (youngest) of our ciricle of friends in college, and of the group one I know is on her second marriage, two or three divorces, and one couple that might still be married, but we've lost touch. Others never married or married enough later that they don't seem to be a part of the picture.

What we did today is drive down to Mitzpe Ramon, drive around slowly looking at the animals, go get something to eat, and then set up in the cottage and talked. And talked and talked and talked. We did play a rail game, Nippon Rails. Not as fun as Iron Dragon but it travels better. There is no internet connection here, no surprize about that. And watched a chunk of Spiderman the first movie. We hadn't seen it before. No loss.

It was good, we talked about problems, our problems with communication, with sex, and a bit about TH's fling with a woman, LA, (her initials, and no connection to anyone on d'land who might use the same letters, sorry) about five years ago. The first time we really talked about it honestly � which is to say the first time he was honest. I actually feel better about it, since it now appears to my somewhat jaundiced eye to show how truly sick TH is, rather than to be a reflection of how he feels about me. Certainly it reflects how he feels about himself. So, whatever. It happened. It was really pretty awful, but it's over. I don't have to be hurt by it anymore. Thank goodness!

And we did have sex. Twice. Which is twice in, what, two years? More? I have no clue. I am clearly more interested in it than he is, and he was something of a rotter the first time. I mean selfish and mean as opposed to clumsy or something like that. He is just such a git. He's all in my face going 'I'm sorry, I'm sorry' for being mean, and I'm just telling him to get his face out of my face. I won't play that game with him. So, tears and talk and more tears and more talk and he's not necessarily a nicer person, but he seems ready to try and do it again right, so we did, and, it was definitely better. And you know what? I could get used to getting laid. ;-)

Still having grody flashbacks galore. No useful suggestions here, don't be horribly abused and repress it in childhood, so you don't have to relive it decades later? Just doesn't have that certain sort of something. Did I mention it's beautiful here? Not like New England, but of course nothing is like New England (except of course New England), but it is beautiful here. I am hoping I can come back down and take photos for postcards. We'll have to see, it is up to Hashem, totally. If they decide that they want them (they seem to think they do), then I have to get photos so postcards can be made up before Pesach. As of today, my body was not up to it. But who knows what the future will bring?

I have no exercycle, no weights and I didn't even bring the resistance tube, so I did a couple of yoga stretches. It's better than nothing, right? I'd like to do more of them, I was quite into yoga when I was younger, but there simply isn't the room in my house. Small house, extremely full of stuff, and I'm referring to the big house.

That's enough natter I guess. TH is snoring, and in theory we have to get up in the morning and get out of this place. Hashem help me. How will I ever even begin to catch up on my sleep debt? It seems bloody unlikely. Well, that's all. Good night.

I am listening to TH snoring.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06