Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Shopping, dentist, wedding, news - 2008-03-28

Today, after not enough sleep, I got up early, and went out with all four of my kids (that live with me), and did gobs of shopping.

I spent more money than we have, and we have almost enough food to last us until ... Sunday? I hope Tuesday at least, because that is when TH gets his next pay, but Sunday is more likely. If anyone has ever figured out how to make food last when one has any number of children in the house, or more than two, I'd like to hear about it.

We had a deadline, so shopping was a bit rushed, but not too stressful. One advantage of going early is that the usual Thursday crowds were actually not so crowded.

The deadline was to be home in time for TH to drive S1 to the dentist. One advantage to them not doing the root canal & crown thing, or even managing the extraction, is that we have fairly large sum of credit at the clinic. With any luck, S1 should get all of his cavities filled without my having to pay any more. He needs X-rays as well, and those we will have to pay for, but like so much in Israel, they are way cheaper than in the U.S., both in absolute numbers, and relative to the standard of living here.

S1's appointment went well, and he loves that dentist as well. He speaks almost no English, I think he is from the FSU (Former Soviet Union) but I'm not sure even of that. He is the best dentist ever, that's all there is. ;-)

TH left soon after getting back to go to a wedding. Our next-door neighbour Tzion's son got married tonight. I was invited, but simply couldn't muster the energy for it. TH says he had a wonderful time.

We did okay here. S1 went next door to stand guard over our neighbour's home and horse. I read two chapters of Adam of the Road for S3's bedtime story, an extra amazing accomplishment because I've had no voice for the last couple of days. Then S3 trotted off to bed, and when I could get up I went to the family room, where I was able to do just about a full work out, with the exercycle, weights and resistance band. We watched that absolute last even Columbo. Great sadness that it is over, but it was a good show. 'We' was me, S2 and D3. After that, we decided to watch an episode of Twilight Zone, so didn't finish up 'til after midnight. Oh, well.

The dogs went really berserk barking more than once - it seems the hedgehogs were out and about more than usual, or else the dogs were just finding them easier. More easily. Whatever.

TH made it home I think around 1am. He'd gotten detailed to drive a couple of older ladies home from the wedding, since it was going on so long.

Today that clocks were put forward, so we 'lose' an hour. It's not such a big deal for us, as our lives are run by the sun as much as by the clock.

There were some very funny moments I'd love to write about, like cracking up watching the guys heads bobbing in the back seat as they sang along to Star Trekkin' If I could only somehow do it when I am brain-dead-tired. I can be really funny in person, but you wouldn't know it here. Well, anyway, that's enough blather.

Oh, I almost forgot to mention, 20 rockets today. That's what is meant by a 'lull' or a 'cease-fire.' I can't remember now who it was who reported that we were experiencing a lull, or lack of rocket-fire.

We've also had a huge upsurge of really horrible child-abuse cases reported in the media. It's a very good sign, 'cause the abuse was happening anyway, now at least someone is speaking up, someone is making it public, you know? Not a good sign (although not at all surprizing) is that all or almost all of the cases are in Anglo & Extremely religious families. Not that people from other backgrounds don't abuse their children, but there is a 'style' to the abuse which is uniquely anglo. NOT uniquely religious, although these were black-hat and/or hareidi families.

Anyway, the saddest thing of all is that this news is a hopeful thing, and an improvement.

I'm listening to Lords of Acid: Rubber Doll, and also Queen: I'm Going Slightly Mad

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06