Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

What happened? - 2008-04-06

I'm grateful for: a nice, restful shabbos; pain pills that work (even if they haven't yet); not feeling sorry for myself.

I can't remember a thing. I'm having some of the worst pain I can remember in the last couple of years. Nothing compared to what I used to live with 24/7, but that doesn't matter. This pain is NOW.

So I can't tell what happened or what I've done or what happened. Somehow I'm managing to keep getting on the exercycle every day. VERY important because there is nothing in the pain to make exercising a bad thing (other than it hurts like hell), and if I stop, then when I start again - IF I start again - it will be much harder, having lost ground and the sadness that goes with it. So, I spin. I haven't done the weights or the resistance tube, but the exercycle is the important thing. If I'm doing that, I will do the other things. If I'm not doing that, I won't be likely to do the other things without it. I can't explain why, but I do know that is how I work.

We watched Kate & Leopold last night, which was wonderful as always. S2 finished reading Abaft the Funnel aloud, which is a Rudyard Kipling collection, wonderful stuff! He happened on a copy of the book, from the first printed edition, that was given out (an advance copy? I don't know how they did things that long ago) two months before the official edition was released. That would be in 1909. So it's pretty special. I am jealous. I want the book to be mine and not his. *grin*

I think my favourite thing was his letters, and least favourite the few poems included in the collection. But even least favourite it was still Kipling and still marvelous. I know there are newer editions of the book out there, and would certainly recommend them.

I had a long-ish talk with RS and a much shorter talk with FB. I'm just finding FB irritating, but I think that is more about my pain and less about him.

TH also finished reading Adam of the Road aloud, we've been reading that as bedtime stories for S3. A delightful book, more dark and depressing to an 8yo than I would have thought, but it might be because there is such a long time between when Adam loses his father and dog and when he finds them again at the very end of the book. When TH read about Adam's reunion with his dog, I thought S3 was going to bounce right out the window.

I've stayed in bed a lot, sleeping, resting, trying not to complain too much. Also, my laptop died - which is to say the cord which charges the battery stopped working. No clue why, and it's an Apple thing, so you can't just cobble something together out of another power cord, they have different connections. Actually TH probably could come up with something, but the machine is still under warranty, the disk drive isn't working and there are keys that have come up off the keyboard. Buying an Apple used to mean something different. I remember my first three machines - plug them in and they work, no fixes or repairs necessary for the life of the machine. *sigh* No more, no more.

A long, long time ago, when dinosaurs roamed the earth, I used to be a computer consultant and an IBM snob. So, you know there are no faithful like the converted. I was converted to Apple sometime in the 1980's, and never looked back. I still prefer them to the blasted pc's which never quite work right and the operating systems ... Oy! We have to pc's and three or four macintosh computers in the house - at least when they are all working. I spent about 1/2 an hour on one of the pc's tonight, and was happy to come back to my desktop macintosh - even if it's one of the one's that has been a severe disappointment in terms of needing repairs and having a few headaches.

TH needs pc's to do his work. Some of the educational programs and games I have bought will only run on pc's, and there are too many websites that don't work right unless viewed from a pc.

I'd also like to make note of the fact that we aren't rich, we simply take care of our machines and never throw anything out. And TH is very good at fixing things. We'd still have our old Apple SEII if we hadn't given it to my sister (who I think still has it). We DID throw out the Commodore we bought over twenty years ago. ;-)

Tomorrow morning TH is taking D2, S1 and my laptop up north. S1 is working where D2 used to, taking care of the 8yo boy, just for the day. D2 has dental appointments. TH is taking my new laptop back for repairs, which hopefully will NOT take weeks and require the computer to be shipped out of the country. Just don't ask. If it happens, I'm sure I'll rant about it at length.

We invited five people to our passover seder, and all five (two families) accepted. AAAAAAgggghhhhh!!! What were we thinking? Clearly NOT that I am disabled and we are broke, and we haven't enough chairs even if we could fit them into the salon which we absolutely cannot. *Sigh* This one I have to hand over to Hashem, as I have no capacity for cope. I'm sure it will all work out, it always has before. And I would rather be hosting a seder than visiting someone else's.

I toyed briefly with the idea of inviting FB to the seder, but thankfully it never came out of my mouth. THAT I don't need.

I finally took the pills for pain this evening, and it seemed they might have been helping briefly, but then I was completely overcome and had to crawl into bed. So, that didn't work. I'll take them again in the morning. So far I think I've only ever had to take them twice, but I might once have had to take them three times and forgotten. The important thing, of course, is that they work. A life without pain is not to be expected, but a live without constant, chronic, killing pain is definitely the preferred option.

I really have no brain, and while I'm sure loads more has happened, I can't remember any of it. So I'm going to try to get some sleep.

I'm listening to Joe Walsh: Turn to Stone

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06