Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

About Wednesday mostly - 2008-04-24

I'm grateful for: sleeping 12 hours; visiting friends; Buying clothes and shoes.

Yesterday was again full, full, full, and I decided to sleep, sleep, sleep. Not so successfully, it was a bad night and I kept waking up, so I spent more than twelve hours in bed, but don't feel any more rested than after eight. Ah, well.

The heat wave continues, unless I didn't already write about that in which case we are going into the second sharav day. Sharav is the hot desert wind, which can blow as hot as 50C degrees (and even hotter). Fortunately it's not that bad this end of the summer. Whew.

Yesterday I did stuff. What did I do? Oh, I took the kids, S1, S2 and D3 out on an expedition to the museum at Yad Mordechai. Yad Mordechai is a kibbutz that was founded in the early 1940's, one of the first handful of settlements in the Negev. It was attacked by the Egyptians in 1948, and held off a significant portion of the Egyptian army for five days with a little over a hundred fighters, two pieces of artillary, and a ragtag collection of guns and mines.

The Egyptians eventually did take Yad Mordechai, along with several other kibbutzim, and the IDF retook them about six months later. The museum is really awesome, it goes back to pre-WWII, and has a reconstructed bunker from the Warsaw Ghetto uprising. Yad Mordechai was named for the leader of the uprising. There are detailed miniature scenes from Egyptian attack, maps, artifacts, all things to set my little homeschoolers' hearts a-pounding.

Yesterday was just a scouting expedition, TH will be taking the kids, including S3, back for a proper tour of the place including a movie (which we didn't see, so I don't know what is in it). There's also a reconstruction of the battlefield, and a memorial. We were able to see the water tower that was shelled and knocked down, very impressive.

Anyway, after that we drove up to Ashkelon to buy groceries. The replacement credit card finally showed up. Thank goodness! It was good to buy food, but of course terribly painful at Pesach (Passover) prices. At least a third more than we'd pay normally. Such is life.

I heard that there is a matzoh shortage in the U.S. No problem of that here. ;-)

We tried to check out a site called Armistice House, but were unable to figure out which way we were supposed to go. Signage is just not terribly well done here. Another time.

I know there was more, but I was/am SO tired and sore. I have to do some shopping today, S3 has absolutely no clothes.

***

One phonecall later, and I'm not shopping yet, because L and her family are coming for a visit in an hour.

Another phonecall later, and I'm not shopping for a while (I hope) as TH has found a store that has clothes for S3 that are on sale and just the right sizes.

So I guess that's all I've got right now. I'm trying to write with the phone ringing, and S3 and D talking while playing on the big computer in my room.

I'm listening to Pete Seeger: Red Bird and Ha-Ha This A-Way (for the boys).

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06