Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Better - 2008-04-28

I'm grateful for: silliness; a good naturopath; chicks.

I'm more balanced now. I think. Nothing between the ears is easy.

I slept late, and felt awful, more pain which definitely doesn't contribute to balance and serenity. Still in pain, so more balanced doesn't mean balanced, or, to put it another way, sane. Well.

I can't remember too much of today. Sat at the computer typing, reading, playing until TH came home and from bringing D3 to her riding lesson (went very well), to take me to the nutritionist. Naturopath. Whatever.

Getting dressed was, fun. We had garlic bread which was very yummy and upset my stomach. I'd forgotten that I'm not eating so much of that since the new diet which was working. I sniped at TH in the car going to the nutritionist, due as much to him being him as to me being in pain. Still, not a fun time.

Meeting with the nutritionist went very well. He is a delightful person. It helped, a lot, if only to be reminded that I have someone that nice, friendly and competent working for me. I have this supplement that I take. Majorly yucky stuff. You really wouldn't want to drink it if you could help it. I toss it off as a shot, then drink a large glass of water, which is the only way I can get it down. But, it works. I don't know what is in it besides basic vitamins and minerals and I don't care very much. I am curious. But the important thing is that it works. When I take this stuff I have less pain, more energy, and can function so much better. So I keep drinking the awful stuff and stick to the diet. Mostly...

After the meeting I went downstairs to get some carrot juice, but they had none. Almost every kenyone (mall) in Israel has at least one juice shop, bar or kiosk which makes fresh whole juice while you wait. Or some of them add sugar. They had no carrot juice though, so I had a shake made up of melon, pineapple, apple and ... banana. Almost couldn't remember. And milk. Yummy and good for me, but afterwards I kind of wished I'd had a base of orange juice rather than milk. It's a hard call this time of year, 'cause a lot of the oranges are very sour.

We shopped a little bit, bought nothing and drove home. But I left out the best part. While we were leaving, we were stopped by a young girl/woman who asked us in garbled Hebrew something, which another youngster (there were at least eight of them) translated into Hebrew as they needed someone to dress up like a chicken and have his picture taken with other people.

We had no plans, so we said 'why not?' They were so excited and they cheered - these young people. As understand it they're graduating, and have been given various tasks to complete - sort of like finding the lost man in the scavenger hunt in My Man Godfrey. One of the tasks was to find someone to dress up like a chicken, then to find other people who would agree to have their picture taken with the person dressed up like a chicken. Lots of words, simple in execution. Dressing TH up like a chicken took some time 'cause they had a bag of random items from which to fashion a chicken costume. Then we waited while they asked passersby to pose with TH. It was a rollicking good time, we were giggling, laughing, snickering. Sometimes just bursting into big wide grins, like when the mother of a toddler agreed to pose with TH, but then the toddler refused to have anything to do with it. He was very cute.

It really was fun. The young people were having such a great time, were so happy and full of energy it was contagious, and not just TH and I, but even people just wandering past got infected with big smiles and laughter.

Finally TH had had enough and he peeled off the various chicken costume bits and we moved along. I wish I could've gotten one of those pictures. Ah, well. I have photos of chicks, so I won't complain.

The chicks are doing well. We have three, and we've go them shut up in the smaller lul, where the second rooster was locked up all alone before. I don't know if the rooster is in the lul with them now, but during the daytime he is out so the chicks and mom can do their thing without worrying about him pecking them or taking all the food. I hope I can get outside to see them tomorrow, I haven't been able to get close 'cause I haven't been feeling good enough to get downstairs to the backyard.

TH paid two of the oustanding bills, the two that had been forgotten. The electric bill still isn't paid, and that is a worry because it is HUGE, from the heating part of the winter. Maybe we can talk to them tomorrow or Thursday about a payment plan. I hate having a bill that large hanging over our heads.

TH talked to the lawyer (home-buying lawyer) today. With any luck we'll be moving forward this month as we have a downpayment provided by TH's employer. There are no extra closing costs here, which I think quite makes up for the other extra little hassles. We pay the lawyer, and then that is it. Cool. TH says to expect it to take four to six months. I said that I've been assuming it will take a year, so anything less than that is just a bonus. I won't go into how complicated it is to buy a home here on a moshav, but I'll tell you one little bit if I haven't before, which is that in order to get a mortgage, our name has to be on the property, and in order to have our name on the property, we really should own it already. The lawyer thus really earns his fee by knowing all these ins and outs and getting it all sorted.

D3 got a horrible cramp in her foot just as we were coming home. So instead of TH and I having the time alone together which we usually try for on Monday nights, I helped her through the horrible cramp, and then because S3 was suffering HORRIBLE pains (definitely for the attention. Definitely), TH read aloud to him from The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe for about twenty-five minutes.

TH and I did shut the door for a while and play a rail game, eat some popcorn and drink some soda. Pepsi for me, I don't know what he was having. Then he went off to bed and I watched an episode of In Living Color (season three) while riding the exercycle. I know I'm not supposed to exercise before going to bed, but if I didn't do it then, it wasn't happening.

As it is it's only a little after midnight, and I've had a chance to clear my head a bit, play a bit of solitaire, write here, and work on being comfortable inside my skin. I'm not there yet, but I'm doing better.

Tomorrow we have the shuk, and D3 has an appointment to get her teeth cleaned. Life goes on, and it is looking a bit finer than it was. Thank goodness the chag (festival) is over, thank goodness we're down to only five people in the house. I'm getting more and more used to having a smaller household. As much as I miss having loads of people, I am enjoying this.

My sister phoned me up today, but I couldn't talk as I was supposed to be heading out to the naturopath at that moment. So, another time. She bought me a couple of Georgette Heyer books that I don't own - one that I've never read before. Squeeeee!!!!!

Or, happy, happy, joy, joy.

TH told me today that he'd forgotten about my birthday and said he was sorry. Since he also justified it claiming that he'd have remember it if... I took the apology with a large grain of salt. Birthdays are important.

I guess that's about all I've got. I am tired of all the sh*t between my ears. I am tired of being in pain. I am tired of being scared all the time. *sigh* Not quite tired of life, though. :-) If only I could have bottled that moment at the mall, with TH as a chicken and all those kids laughing with delight...

I'm listening to Chet Baker: Look For The Silver Lining

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06