Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

News, and news - 2008-04-29

I'm grateful for: no one hurt by the bomb; a wind that feels like rain; fresh strawberries from the shuk.

Sorry if you're tired of me going on about it, but this is my diary, and I need to get it out somewhere.

So I noticed how the NYT had in big blaring letters about the mom and four kids who were killed in Gaza by the IDF? I've been watching and waiting, but no sign of any big letters saying as how that mom and her kids were actually killed by a huge quantity of explosives that was being carried by a PA/Hamas/islamist (pick your PC term of choice) terrorist near their home.

They were firing from within a residential neighbourhood, and when this guy got hit, his explosives blew up with him. And that poor family. First of all, if the guy hadn't been firing at us, no one would have been shooting at him. Second, if he hadn't been carrying a huge load of explosives (bomb vest? getting ready to build more rockets?) him being shot would never have harmed that family.

Does the NYT report this? Does anyone outside of a handful of media watch groups even know this? No, it's not reported in the major (liberal) media outlets in Israel, either. It is reported by Arutz 7, which is far enough right that one has to take their reporting with a grain of salt as well as they will label simply anyone a terrorist who doesn't happen to agree with them. Okay, I'm overstating a little. But almost.

I'm just so frustrated about it all. Don't even want to rant, but if I'm not to end up exploding I need to vent it somewhere. Here.

***

On a vaguely related note we got hit by a kassam last night (this morning?) It hit in the fields, again the advantage of living in the country is that there are a lot of fields as opposed to very few houses. Not such easy targets. They may actually have been aiming in our direction this time, as supposedly they are targeting Netivot now, although we haven't seen much sign of it. It may be that they are still aiming north-east (towards Sderot) and the rockets are going south-east (towards us). It's better than when the rockets end up in the sea - at least it's sort of in the same direction. Thank goodness for incompetent terrorists.

What is in those fields are the kalaniyot (endangered plants, Israel's flower, if we have one) and some bedouin. No word of anyone being hurt thank goodness, or their sheep.

I have photos of some bedu in our home field behind the back yard. They are really amazing. There was one bedouin man with a hundred or so sheep. He whistled at them and gave particular yells, and the sheep formed up or followed him, depending. It was so cool. Clearly their sheep haven't had the smart bred out of them. I just can't imagine one man by himself managing a hundred head of sheep like that anywhere I've seen in the U.S.

Many bedu won't have their picture taken (I'm not sure if this is religious or for some other reason), so I was careful not to take the man's photo (mostly). TH says that that's the older bedu and the younger generation doesn't care so much, but I try to be considerate, even if they are in my back field and he wanders into the frame when I am shooting (photography) his sheep. :-)

I'm going to try and get photos up on fotolog today. Hashem willing.

I'm listening to Rabbi Berel Wein: 5000 years in 5 hours, The Crash Course In Jewish History

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06