Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Late, rambling - 2008-04-30

I'm grateful for: a good supper; fresh strawberries; doing what I can, and mostly not worrying about what I can't.

I don't think I have much to say. It's too late, after 2am and I am *very* tired. I ended up watching 9 to 5 with D3 until almost 2am. It was a bad copy - some part of the middle was in Spanish, the rest in English. So I guess I'll actually buy the dvd. Which is a huge pain, 'cause I have to buy it from some other country and have it shipped here. Maybe it just won't happen. It's not like it's a very important thing. Actually left to my own inclination I wouldn't buy it, but it seems that my inclination is the least important thing going.

We had more bombs here today - an exciting day all 'round. Also, Ben & Jerry's was celebrating an anniversary being in the country and giving away free ice cream cones, but we didn't find out about it until it was too late to go. *pout* Extreme sadness. There is a Ben & jerry's in Sderot, which isn't too far from here.

We had some friends from our old community in the shtochim (Yesha, the Shomron, Samaria, the West Bank, choose your highly loaded label of choice) down here to visit during Pesach. At one point my friend EB commented that we were brave to be living here. I said I felt so much better living here than having to drive past Azzoun every day - as we had to when we lived in Ginot Shomron. Azzoun is what is known as a 'hostile' arab 'village.' Well, the hostile certainly isn't in question, but the village - it's certainly big enough to be called a city in most places.

Anyway, when we lived there, we never had a trouble or ran into any incidents besides TH getting a moving violation for passing illegally - so it's not like we had any bad experiences to compare to life here. But for whatever reason, I am more comfortable living here, where there are periodic kassams and mortars (the kassams and mortars are constant, but they only come down here periodlically), than I was there having to drive through and past hostile villages and cities where every single day cars are stoned, fire-bombed and/or shot at. No one in my family has been injured, or even close. My friend shrugged quite expressively. She clearly is more uncomfortable with the missiles and mortars.

Neither of us would be comfortable in the relatively 'safety' of Tel Aviv or any community in the center, which is one reason we are friends. Neither of us wants to live among people who, as long as the missiles and fire-bombs are only bothering other people, are perfectly content to let those other people be hurt and/or killed.

A gross generalization, but it's not a completely unfair one, since the majority of draft-dodgers and people who look for the easy jobs in the army are from the center - also our incredibly awful gub'ment was elected on the strength of those people who simply refuse to believe that those of us not living in the centre are not somehow provoking those 'poor' terrorists, and they would be really nice people if we would only give them everything they have turned down when it was offered to them before. Like a state (back in 1948, and repeatedly since then).

Okay, I've gone past getting political, so it's time to stop. I wouldn't've gone that far, but I am very tired. And I am much too tired to go back and erase it all and start over. So, too bad.

I want to write, I want to talk about what's going on, and friends, and funny news and I'm just too tired and I wrote all that other crap. *sigh* I did post some photos to my fotolog. I'm not entirely happy with them, but I went through at least a hundred photos, so my brain went mush.

D3 made some really yummy brownies with chocolate chips. They are 'healthy' junk food, since they are made with whole wheat flour and not sweetened with sugar (we've been using honey here in Israel, but back in New England we used maple syrup which unquestionably makes the very best brownies).

TH made me some carrot juice today, and also made some baked fish for supper, in fact he made a real supper with the fish, some mashed potatoes, corn, you know, a proper meal, not some of his short-order stuff that we basically live on otherwise. It was really good to have a proper meal is all I can say. The fish, I don't know what to call it, since I don't know the English name for it. It comes from the Mediterranean and is quite different from anything I've been used to. It's a white fish, but the name is 'Golden [something]' in English. Like I said, it has a different flavour, but it was good. I really love fish.

I haven't made it out to see the chicks, or feed the chickens, but I did manage to get on the exercycle again tonight, and I even hefted some hand weights. I worked extra hard with the weights to get it right - I was worried my form was bad, but on consideration I think I was doing fine, and fretting myself over nothing.

I'm going to stop, having nothing worth saying despite my typing on at length. I 'should've' sent out a mass mailing today, which I am not getting done. Might not get it done tomorrow. It's up to Hashem. And we have to do the homeschooling plan. I'm glad Hashem has to make this all work, I know I can't do it.

Last thing, I hear the gub'ment (that'd be the U.S. gub'ment) has already started sending out the extra money. If I counted properly, we have $1800 coming, and it might be as much as $2100. Depending on if S2 is allowed. So, I am looking forward to being able to pay my property taxes. I promise to spend the rest in retail shopping in U.S. stores - I'll do my part for the economy. And get my sons some shoes that fit. :-)

Enough. Good night.

I'm listening to John Michael Montgomery: I Can Love You Like That

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06