Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Avoidance - 2008-04-30

I'm grateful for: a very quiet day; having accomplished some things, even if it wasn't the task I set for myself; chocolate.

The bombs that fall on or near us just aren't terribly important. I mean, okay, if any of us were hurt it would be terribly important to me/us, but really - not so significant. The bombs that, for instance, hit directly on a home, or the bomb that, today, landed immediately next to a middle school, or the bomb that, in the last week, landed on a health clinic. Those bombs are important. By the grace of Gd, and I mean that, no one has been killed in these recent bombings. No one was maimed. No 8yo boys lost legs or eyes.

Today a bomb landed near Sderot and started a fire. The closer we get to summer, and if this is still going on (no reason to assume it won't be), that danger becomes greater, as it is hotter, and dryer. This isn't sand desert. There is a lot of dry grasses and so forth which are a terrible fire danger in the summer, even without the bombs because they spontaneously burst into flame.

And so it goes. Today was quiet here, but some farmers who live near the Gaza fence can't go out to harvest their crops except at night, because of the Palestinians firing at them over/through the fence. They are about seven km from here. Not that far.

So, tonight is Yom HaZikron HaShoah. Holocaust Remembrance Day. For us, it means remembering tomorrow to be awake and aware when the siren sounds for the moment (2 minutes) of silence standing at attention. Otherwise we are doing nothing special. It is enough.

I am supposed to be sending out emails regarding a new email meeting I seem to be starting. I am not thrilled. ;-) I suppose that is why I'm here instead of doing that. It's supposed to be done by the first, so I hope I will get to it - it's amazing how many things suddenly become more interesting and important when there is something you don't want to do (I cleared out some of my saved online receipts today. Talk about non-vital!).

Well, I can't think of anything to say. My arms are tired, and I am still not functioning well. Waah. I set my goals small and simple - getting those emails out. If I accomplish that, it's a win.

So I got some laundry done.

*sigh*

I'll find something else to do to avoid my chosen task, but probably accomplish it before I fall asleep tonight, however late I have to stay up to do it.

I'm not proud of this, it just is.

Later.

I'm listening to Donovan: Jennifer Juniper

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06