Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Bad body day - 2008-05-07

I'm grateful for: new books; children learning; having a life which allows me to be this non-functional in my own home with my family.

I haven't much to say (famous last words), but it's before 2am and I've nothing more to do, but write something and go to sleep. How did that happen? Well, I spent all day doing stuff on the computer, that definitely helped.

I can't remember much of that day - probably in part due to lack of sleep, and in part due to a day of endlessly plodding through email, news, financial stuff and so forth.

The good thing - which is obviously not terribly memorable as I had forgotten all about it - is that my birthday present from RS showed up. A copy of Simon the Coldheart and one of The Conqueror, both by Georgette Heyer. Children have been put on serious alert regarding these books, as they are not replaceable (at least by me). I've never read The Conqueror, and haven't seen a copy of Simon the Coldheart in quite possibly two decades. Close, certainly. S2 is very much enjoying Simon the Coldheart, which is a very quick read, so he's taking frequent breaks to try and make it last. I love my kids. :-)

I spent a little time doing some flashcards with S3. His reading IS coming along, but I can't help but fret about it, 'cause until he is actually able to read I'm going to be worrying. Just part of being an ima. D3 wants help with algebra too. And then there is the Hebrew thing. Not to mention having to write up a school plan for the lawyer to approve before giving it to the kabas (truant officer). *sigh* But back to the start of this paragraph, S3 is progressing, which is the important thing - it's all good.

We ended up watching a movie with our neighbours called Hill 24 Doesn't Answer. It's the very first Israeli-made film (or is that all-Israeli-made? I forget), from 1955. Of course our copy isn't that old, but it is in videotape and has been loved enough it is starting to really wear. It's a beautifully told story from the War for Independence, perfect for the day. TH and D - the husband of the neighbour couple - had wanted to watch The Bourne Ultimatum, but I felt a it uncomfortable watching that on Memorial Day. I talked TH into Hill 24 Doesn't Answer, and he sold it to them. They'd never seen it before, and it was good to see tears on L - the wife of the couple - at the same time as I was crying when the Jews in Jerusalem surrendered in the movie.

The siren starting the holiday actually went here, after I said that it doesn't sound in our area. I'm not sure why - I'm curious to see if the siren will sound tomorrow at eleven, like it is supposed to. There were two Kassams this morning, close enough we could see the dust, and the Tzevah Adom (Colour Red) warning didn't go, so I'm curious about all of that, but I don't have the Hebrew to ask and it's quite possible none of the neighbours know anyway.

Now I'm all in. Physically it was a very hard day. I just haven't the strength or stamina to do anything. I sit up for a little, or stand up, and then I am almost fainting from weakness. Sucks. So I'm off to sleep now, good night all.

I'm listening to Sarah MacLachlan: Plenty (Fade Mix)

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06