Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Yom Ha'Atzma'ut - 2008-05-08

I'm grateful for: an outing; enough to eat; a really good four hours' sleep.

I fell asleep sometime after 8pm and woke just around midnight. So now, of course, I can't sleep. I am supposed to be waking up in a little less than five hours, in order to get ready to go to the homeschoolers picnic, an annual event that I wouldn't be going to. Except. L, David's mother, asked me to PROMISE that I would be there. Then, earlier today we found out she had decided NOT to go. I am, well, un-pleased. Not terribly surprized on reflection, but a bit pissed off. Yeah.

Well, it will be a good picnic - I hope. So far all the people I KNOW are going are people that I, we, my family likes. And one of our friends is picking up American style hot dogs for us (this is a big deal, it is almost impossible to get beef hotdogs in Israel, they are all chicken, or turkey). We were able to get out and buy ketchup and bread (we have mustard) and some chips and we have fruit to bring along. I'm going to print out some stuff on writing out a curriculum for the stupid Kabas and the ministry of education (misrad ha-chinuch), to bring along, so I've got something to do if it gets boring, and maybe even to get input from others there.

Nothing much happened today. I did get up for the siren at 11am. I'd been half-asleep and sadly when the siren went I heard it and stood up at attention, but my mind went right back to that half-awake state and I was dreaming standing there. I did manage to force the dreams to be related to independence, but that took the form mostly of dream images of the movie Hill 24 Doesn't Answer. *sigh* What we can do.

I managed to get up and dressed, and TH and I and S2 went out to buy groceries. Unfortunately we left too late and every bloody place was closed except the extremely over-priced little grocery at the central bus station in Be'er Sheva. Well, we won't starve, and can go shopping again on Friday. I can't remember if every place closes on the 4th of July for the Independence Day holiday. They do, here. Early. The day before.

Well, it was nice to get out of the house, and we stopped in Netivot for shawarma on the way home so it wasn't any kind of a loss.

The pain continues. As long as I sit in bed and don't do anything I'm okay. Which just totally sucks, i have to say.

I didn't exercise due to falling asleep, but maybe the trip out counts as enough for today.

I'm going to sleep again now. I hope.

I'm listening to Carbon Leaf: Torn to Tattered

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06