Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Happy Mother's Day - 2008-05-12

I'm grateful for: a productive day; a good episode of In Living Color; almost no pain.

I'll start with the obligatory: happy mother's day! And thanks so much for my 'Ima's Day' wishes, it did make me smile.

Mostly what mother's day reminds me of is how different it is here, particularly the attitude towards mothers. There is no official mother's day here, and I don't miss it. I always felt in the U.S. it was a day that highlighted the low esteem mothers and motherhood was held in the other 364 days of the year. For this one day we won't take you for granted, and that should make up for the rest of the year when we do.

I'm' glad that is not everyone's experience, however it surely was mine. Here, mother's are held in high esteem, period. No body here asks me what I do all day - I am a mother, and that is enough. No one says to me condescendingly that I 'couldn't find a job.' There are people who listen to what I have to say (and not only my own children) and think I have wisdom simply because I am a mother of six. No letters after my name required.

My higher learning came largely in real life, and nobody I meet here sees that as of less value than college (I had three and a half years of college, and I honestly don't think it counts for **** compared to what I have learned in the real world. I am NOT without college, merely without letters).

So, I apologize to any I may have offended. And I hope everyone who observes the day had a wonderful time.

There are plenty of people in Israel, btw, who follow the more 'modern' 'Western' way of thinking. People who disdain anything that isn't part of the formal educational system and any achievements that aren't measured by money and/or status. Mostly living in cities in the center, or in Jerusalem. In American enclaves or among the educated FSU immigrants. Then there are some of the 'black hat' sects for whom women only exist as a means of men carrying on. It ain't perfect. There are reasons I live in the sort of community I do, and some of them are reflected in my community's views of what is actually important and who matters. I do love where I live. *very big grin*

I didn't mean to rant about mothers' status or mother's day. I meant to say hi and go to bed. It's just - oh, I don't know. Still working out the dross of too many years of being looked down on and sneered at and ignored and treated as if I were both ignorant and useless. I don't doubt my own value, or the rightness of my choices (for me!) - but that nasty sh*t. It still rankles. I'm working on getting over it people, it just takes time.

And now I am going to try to sleep. Last night I was up until after 4:30am, which just totally s*cks. I tried to sleep, and couldn't. Then I woke up at eleven. This cripple needs more sleep!

Just to end on a positive note: today was largely pain-free. I often forget to write when the pain goes away, when it's gone I don't think about it - amazingly enough. ;-) So, since I remembered, there it is.

I'm listening to Elbow: The Stops

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06