Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

What's up - 2008-05-29

I'm grateful for: a night's sleep; a quiet house; learning to relax - better than I had been.

I'm talking to people more, but not particularly happily. A situation has arisen which really requires some sort of action - at the moment we haven't figured out exactly what to do. We've approached the mom (TH made the call). Concerns were expressed and help offered. Now we wait two weeks (which is exactly how long she will keep up an appearance of taking our concerns seriously) and then probably call the city's social services to express our concerns to them. This is not a happy situation - there has been much discussion among several people. There are multiple issues, for instance the mother is homeschooling her son (her daughter is in school), and we'd like to do what we can to protect the homeschooling community from the almost inevitable fallout - one homeschooling mom is seriously neglecting her kids, and that may be the only face of homeschooling that many people see. Other factors include the fact that the mom could (if she chose to) take her anger out on D2 in some ways - D2 is a big girl, and can't really be seriously harmed by anything the mom might do, but still it is something we want to keep in mind.

Obviously none of that, or the fact that the mom in question will in all probability decide that we are her enemies and cut all contact, and possibly attempt to harm us in the community, is more important than trying to get help for the children. It's just a horrible situation. Horrible. *sigh*

So I've been on the phone a lot, and reading/writing emails and generally connecting with people more than I had been. I want to shut the world back out for a while, but I guess that brief vacation such as it was is over for now.

Tomorrow is shopping. And paying bills. And possibly meeting with the landlord to discuss whether or not he will sell the place to us. He's said all along he will for a certain price. Now we are hearing from one of his sons that he won't. We need to know where we stand. I don't want to move again. Ever. But if I need to move one more time to have a permanent home, then that is what will happen. I will not be at the mercy of another landlord (long-term). Have I mentioned that I could happily live the rest of my life in this place? :-)

So, the photo thing. It's good, yes? I hope it's good. I have to go pick up some more postcard stock, I have photos to print. I have a really good series of Syrian brown bear photos, and a couple of landscapes. And the kalaniyot. Good enough to be market-able. Maybe. So I'm doing things with the photos again. That feels good, at least.

The body is struggling. I don't really know what else to say about that. I need appts with ever sort of dr., and so far TH has made me one with a rofeh nashim (women's dr.), so I can't say he's done *nothing* It just feels like it.

Here is a photo of TH at the Yom HaAtzma'ut picnic this year. When you take a photo while someone is shifting position it can sometimes look a little strange. I took this with a telephoto, he had no idea he was on camera. Which is the only way to get a decent photo of him, as he freezes.

John dland 29May

Isn't he hairy?

That's it for me. I'm tired and getting cranky. It's only 3am. *sigh*

I'm listening to Joan Diener: It's All The Same, from Man of LaMancha

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06