Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Of painting and dentistry - 2008-06-14

I'm grateful for: knitting again; my new printer/scanner thing; making soup, I hope it's a sign of more to come.

What to write? I don't want to be one of those people who is complaining all the time, but on the other hand that is one thing I keep a diary for. I complain here so I don't have to in my 'real' life. Or something like that. I'm not sure the words are right, but I trust anyone reading it can figure out what I mean.

So, having got that out of the way (bad grammar and all), let me just say that I've got an infection - where the dentist messed up the root canal and split my tooth. I know there's a proper name for it but I don't know what it is. I just know it's been utterly horrible. For days. Today it is a bit better. My whole life revolves around taking the antibiotics. The dentist and pharmacist were both quite firm that I have to take them 8 hours apart, which means I have TH with alarms set on his cell phone and (I think) his watch to tell me to take the pills, and he has to wake me up to make sure I take the first-of-the-morning pill at 7am. It kind of sucks. The dentist was really unhappy about the infection and also that I can't get in hospital for the intake appointment until the 29th of June - and then have no idea when they will finally do the extraction.

Wow, and I thought I would manage not to complain. Well, it hurts and it has taken over my whole life for a few days, which is why I haven't written anything or have much to write about.

That's a lie, I have a HUGE amount to write about - I'm just not likely to get it all down. D1 went to court again, and the judge FINALLY ordered that the kids be returned to them. Since the social services DROPPED the charges of abuse and neglect, it is unconscionable that it's taken more than six months for the children to be returned. But, rather than fret about that too much, I want to be relieved and happy - and I will be, WHEN the kids are back. Now they say two to three weeks. I'm not holding my breath, and I am praying for all I am worth. Or at least, all I can.

D2 lost her job, has been job hunting, caught up on her sleep, and has an official boyfriend who looks to be (quite possibly) getting very serious. I haven't met him yet. But D2 has met his parents, and they seems to be inclined positively - I hear they are dropping hints about him 'settling down now.'

The new dog, who I didn't want and, well, he's the new dog. He's blind, in case I haven't mentioned. He vanished a couple of nights ago. Gave us a HUGE scare. We have no idea how he did it or where he went. But he managed to find his way back, so all is well there. He is quite cute, and affectionate, and if I didn't already have two dogs I might not mind him so much. This is just about the perfect place for him, though. So I'll take that as some sort of sign.

The chicks are doing quite well. We have the 'store bought' chicks and the 'home grown' chicks. We hit a jackpot with the store bought chicks, it appears that out of eight chicks we have only one rooster. Can't tell yet on the home grown chicks, they are a few weeks younger. We've started letting them out of the lul. The are SO cute. I could watch them all day - if it wasn't so bloody hot here, and we can't let them out all day. We can't let them out when the goats are in the yard, because the goats will go into the lul, and wreck things. We can't let them out when we are letting the dogs out, because try as we will, we can't break them of chasing (and killing) the chicks. They don't mess with the grown chickens, so it's only a matter of time there. I made it outside today to sit with them for a while and feed them, which was a wonderful part of my day, as always.

Today I made tomato soup. I pride myself on my tomato soup, it is the best, it is delicious. I can no longer cook myself, so I mostly supervised D3 and S1. D3 is learning to cook things this way. S1 was needed, because neither D3 nor I are strong enough to mash the cooked tomatoes through the strainer. I forgot to put in the cloves, but it was still delicious. I managed to eat two bowls-ful. I don't really like to 'drink' my lunch, but it's good for bad teeth and cold days. Today wasn't cold at all. I made about three quarts, so unless the kids go crazy on it, I'll have it for a few days yet.

I finally (YEAAA!) after years of wanting one, have a scanner. Not a big deal for some, I know. I have wanted one, and Thursday, while shopping, Hashem put one right in my face. On sale. For 600NIS, with a 100NIS giftcard so it really cost only 500. I wish I could do the symbol for shekels, that NIS looks stupid. Ah, well.

So what did I scan? To start with, I did two paintings from S3 and D3. I love them - they actually don't look as good scanned as in the originals, but what can you do? I forgot to mention, it's one of those all-in-one machines: it's a new printer (which I needed and was shopping for) and fax machine and copier as well.

So this is S3's first painting (that he liked and kept and gave to me):

El'yah'sPainting

Let's hope I did that right. And this is a painting that D3 did. I love D3's paintings and drawings. she has a gift and many of her drawings and paintings, while simple, are striking. This one she painted because S3 had gotten out the paints, and she couldn't bear to see them wasted so she painted something rather than throw the unused pain away. It's one of my favourites, I can't tell you why. I just look at it from across the room and it draws my eyes and makes me smile.

Simcha'sPainting

There was undoubtedly more news that I can't remember, but I can't remember it. And it's almost 4am, and TH will be waking me at 7 for the dratted pills.

I'm listening to: Stereolab: The Noise Of Carpet.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06