Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

More photos and such - 2008-06-28

I'm grateful for: not having to get up early tomorrow; dried kiwi; it cooling off to almost bearable temps.

Moving right along, more photos, there's another entry from earlier tonight, as I am going a wee bit photo crazy (again).

We visited this memorial/remnant from the very beginnings of Kibbutz Beeri. Looking in the windows and (what the kids called) 'shooty holes,' there's some interesting stuff, but the only photo I've got is of a couple of pigeons on a chair:

Pigeons on Chair

There is a plaque explaining a bit, basically that this was the guard house and a bit about what the defenders were up against. Suffice it to say that they were grossly outnumbered and it wasn't pretty. But the kibbutz still exists, although it's down the road a piece as this is now part of a national forest/memorial site.

Plaque

An exterior shot of the guardhouse

Guardhouse

And yes, I know not everyone is as thrilled with all of this as I am, but I only have one more of the guardhouse, from the front.

GuardHouseFront

We next made it to the ANZAC Memorial. It is actually quite lovely, I don't feel the photo does it justice (I took this from the car with the door open).

ANZACMemorialdland

There is a lookout which gives an amazing view of the area (and where the fighting was), including pretty much all of Gaza city. TH and a couple of kids on the lookout.

TH&KidsonLookout

Sadly, I couldn't go up, so I have no photos of the view (S2 took some, so I have some idea what it was like). It was a really great thing to see anyway, and on the way back out of the national forest we stopped at a playground:

THandS3
TH & S3

THandEl'yahonTopoftheWorld
TH & S3 on top of the world. :-)

D3andS2
D3

And that is surely enough photos for tonight, besides I've spent two hours doing this. Too long.

From this outing until sometime Thursday life was pretty quiet, we rearranged the furniture in a couple of rooms, put some work into making the house more organized and livable. No small thing.

I took a whole lot of photos of the chickens, I can't remember which day, and took some today, too. Thursday was grocery shopping, which to be honest just about killed me, but we managed. Just S2 and I did it, with little money but without D2 coming home for the weekend it went a lot easier and quicker anyway. I drove to Be'er Sheva, and S2 drove home. Also S1 got a new pair of glasses on Thursday, so now he can move forward with getting his driving lessons. Yeaaa.

I also took photos of the roses, which are doing very well. I'll do more photos tomorrow I hope. Today was house-cleaning, and I got a bath and hair washed and nails trimmed and sorry if that is tmi, but it's not like I can do that every day unfortunately. It also takes a fair amount of time and a lot of energy.

We watched the movie 9 to 5 tonight. S3 loved it so much, he was jumping up and running around and squealing. He said afterward it was the BEST movie he'd seen on a Friday night. I'm not sure what was so delightful to him. It's not that I don't see what there was in it to delight an 8yo boy, but I don't know what it was made it register so strongly for him. Whatever, we own it now, and I don't see any harm in him watching it again.

I actually thought I was going to get to sleep at a reasonable hour - finish the silly sf book I'm reading - The House In November by Keith Laumer - and fall asleep early - like before midnight. Now it's after 3am. *sigh*

Maybe I won't be back tomorrow with more photos. But then, they pile up, don't they? And (Hashem willing) it's not like I'll stop taking them. Well, good night for now.

I'm listening to Metallica: Astronomy

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06