Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Tuesday before midnight - 2008-07-08

I'm grateful for: a fan in my room; getting better; life going mostly smoothly.

Hi, it's me again. Stupid tired, I couldn't fall asleep last night. I hope tonight will be better. The heat is dreadful, beyond dreadful. Not Death Valley hot, though, so that's something to be grateful for.

I continue to be busy, busy, busy, busy which is good. Doing schoolwork with S3, studying Hebrew with S2, sending a bit of paying work towards S1. D3 has her riding lessons, and D2 went out on a date tonight. TH is meeting with her tomorrow to sign as a guarantor for her new apartment, and she has an appointment to apply for a student loan on Sunday.

Laundry's been keeping up, housework is getting done, not so good today, but generally better than we'd been managing. I haven't been able to go out and feed my birds, sadness, and D3's riding lesson was pushed so late that there was no time for TH and I to go out or have any time together Monday night. It's because of the heat, the lessons have to happen later so as not to make it too hard on the horses.

I got a bit of good news today, which is that my exercise bike should be coming back in about a week. It's not great, but at least I know it is coming and I have a date.

We have company right now, my Canadian friend brought two of her kids over, and they are spending the night. It's a special treat for both sets of kids, her son, and youngest, hasn't ever spent the night with friends without a parent before, and S3 and D3 are just thrilled to have them as captive playmates for a while. My Canadian friends is coming back tomorrow morning to take them all to the beach, which is another huge treat.

I also didn't get to the shuk today, but TH did with D3, and they bought me a new pair or very silly earrings. They are a pastel green pair of six-sided dice. A photo would be nice, but I'm not managing it tonight for sure.

TH is going to work tomorrow, so if all the youngers go to the beach it will be quite a quiet day here. That certainly has a big appeal.

Also I talked to RS today, or rather listened to her. She is back home a few days, and listening to her didn't make me completely squirrelly, so that's good.

I did something awful to my broken, dead tooth last night, I don't know what, and now it hurts awfully, not to mention sometimes getting caught on something when I bite down. TH has been phoning and phoning the hospital trying to make an appointment for me, but they aren't answering the phone. The one time someone did answer, she told him to call back later.

Also TH has been phoning and phoning lishkat ge'us, which is - what would you call it in English? - the part of the army which deals with bringing in the new soldiers and assigning them to training courses or determining what sort of jobs they will get in what units. I'm sure there is a simple word or phrase, but I can't think of what it is. S2 is very concerned that he be able to maximize his chances for getting into the combat engineering, so he keeps trying to get hold of someone to talk about his tik (file). It's very frustrating - what is the point of having telephones if people are going to refuse to answer them? Give us an email address, or even a regular postal address and we will send you our questions and concerns for heavens' sake. Clearly the point is to avoid this at all costs. *sigh*

Anyway, as I said, I am really tired. Need to sleep if possible, at least close my eyes. It is SO hot. I haven't even made it halfway through July. Well, July is the hottest month. And I've certainly survived July in Israel before.

I'm listening to one of the dogs scratching at a door, loudly.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06