Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Not enough sleep, again. - 2008-10-30

I'm grateful for: a nice hot bath; happy chickens - and goats; nothing to do tomorrow. Hashem willing, I will get some sleep.

TH went to work today, and brought S3 and S1 up north with him. It was a very peaceful day here. I hardly got anything done, but that is true only if I ignore that I took a bath, started a load of laundry, rode the exercycle for more than twenty minutes, worked a little bit with free weights, researched candidates and voted (absentee ballot), talked on the phone in various conversations and on various topics to almost all members of my family, and did almost all of the grocery shopping for the next week.

Okay, so maybe I got a few things done.

It's easy to forget.

A few interactions with TH were unavoidable and unpleasant. It's hard to tell, now, how much of it is him, and how much of it is me assuming he's going to be an a**hole and reacting before he has even done anything. I know I am short tempered and snippy with him, but as I pointed out to S2, this is a huge improvement, as I am no longer homicidal.

It was a good day. Among the things I forgot I did is getting the goats and chickens locked up with their treats (goats) and daily meal (chickens). I sat with the chickens until it was almost too dark to see - I really enjoy watching them, and even being with them. At this point they accept me in the lul (chicken house) as part of the furniture and peck food right next to me. I am in fear of being pecked myself sometime, but not enough to stop sitting with them.

Unlike the goats, they don't beg for food, but they do line up outside the lul when it is suppertime, waiting for me to come and bring our kitchen scraps and whatever extra bread the neighbours have dropped off.

Israelis will NOT throw out food, particularly bread, so we are a sort of blessing on the neighbourhood. Traditionally people leave extra bread that they can't finish before it goes bad (for instance) outside by dumpsters or on doorsteps. This works fine if you live in a city where there are poor people who can pick it up, but is not so effective in the country. By giving the bread to us they are not throwing the bread away, they know it will be used and useful. And of course it cuts down on our feed bill dramatically. Our feed bill is pretty wonderful anyway. Yesterday TH drove out to the mill where we buy our grain, and was able to get a deal that meant that we got 20 kilos (what is that? about 8lbs, I think) of fresh ground whole wheat flour along with our grain effectively for free - since it cost the same as when we buy the grain without the flour.

The result of all this extra flour has been a baking spree by D3. Today she made brownies and chocolate chip cookies. Yum. My lunch was pretty much chocolate chip cookies, although I did eat a vegetarian taco, so it wasn't all bad. *grin*

I'm falling asleep as I write this. Thank you Fifi for your kind words. That's it for me, I'm all in. Goodnight.

I'm listening to The Kinks: Little Bit of Emotion

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06