Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Good morning - 2008-11-05

I'm grateful for: having faith; terrorists with really bad aim; another successful election over.

I got woken up way too early this morning with the loudspeakers calling "tzeva adom, tzeva adom." No one heard a boom, though, so either it didn't hit here or it was just an area-wide warning. Seven kassams and 16-20 mortars as far as we can figure out.

Congratulations President-elect Obama.

No, I don't necessarily think the two things are connected. That was just the second item of news I saw. I looked up the missiles first.

The third item related to international politics I saw (the shortage of staffing in neo-natal units not being important outside of Israel), was that Bahrain is now planning to re-open it's Israel Boycott office. It was closed two years ago at the insistence of the U.S. as part of a trade agreement. They seem to figure that's not important (the office being kept closed, not the trade agreement) any longer.

Good morning world.

I don't want to talk about the horrible visit I had with the neuro at Barzilai yesterday, or TH's final conversation with the landlord about buying the house (it seems we are not).

I am glad that the U.S. elected a black president - it is a good sign. Even if the particular president scares me in my boots. He has absolutely no connection to reality as I see it. Now my reality may be different from another person's - I've lived a different life, with different experiences - but for the most part we can agree on some things. Basic things. I'm not sure that he and I agree on any single thing. He has been compared to President Kennedy on more than one occasion. Does anyone other than me remember that Kennedy was in fact a bad president? Being martyred before he could really show us how bad a president he could be doesn't make him into a good president. I hope and pray that this new president exceeds expectations. Please, Hashem.

'Cause there isn't another planet I can move to.

Back in the 1970's it was, I remember many discussions on the subject and it was agreed that the U.S. would elect a black president long before it had a woman president. I guess we were right. Now I can start hoping for a woman I would want to see in the white house. Neither of the women in this last campaign made the grade in my book.

I didn't want McCain as president, either, btw. But I must say (I'm not telling who I voted for), that the fact that one of the guys I didn't want didn't win doesn't reconcile me to the other guy winning.

Now that the election is over, can some of the zombefied supporters please at least acknowledge that this man is not a heaven-sent saviour who can do no wrong? That he has surrounded himself with some of the very worst sleaze and scum in politics and, in fact, in the world, that he has given no proof that he is capable of doing anything positive as an executive? Please? Because if I read one more paean to the beauty, the wonder, the holiness and the charisma of him I may just have to put out my eyes.

What I think? I didn't like either major party candidate, but I *really* disliked the supporters of one more than the other. I'm not saying anyone and everyone who supported Obama - but the shrill and unthinking zombies. You must know what I mean. Shrill. Unthinking. Parrot-like. And, did I say, shrill?

*sigh*

Very possibly the best thing to come out of the election is how many people of color do not, at least at the moment, feel disenfranchised. I hope that that feeling continues. I hope that it continues as a fact.

Latest report: it's up to 40 missiles this morning; rockets and morters. Whee, fun. Thank goodness they can't aim the things, it's the only thing that makes it bearable.

Also, S2 was reading over my shoulder earlier and told me he had heard the boom. It wasn't on our moshav. They pick on the next one north of us a lot, though.

See, many Americans simply do not believe in bad guys. Not really. America has been a wonderful place, where people simply do not generally meet people who want to kill them. It's not real to so many of them. And to many people in other countries as well, but I am from the U.S.A. so I will only speak of what I know personally.

The very idea is inconceivable that there are actually people out there who would kill every single one of us, men, women and children, simply because they could. Happily, joyously, gleefully. Not just a few oddballs, but hundreds, thousands, literally millions of people. Not all of them if presented with the opportunity could actually do it, but those who couldn't? They are the minority. You don't believe it. It doesn't fit with your life experience. Your view of reality is vastly different from mine based on the fact that you have not in your lifetime had to face people like that.

Two missiles hit in Ashkelon, one in a public park. Tell me again about the 'peace' process. About those 'good' ones, the ones who don't want to see not only me, but you, and your families, and your entire country dead, but even better than dead would be subjugated to their world view, in which women are subhuman and evil, and anyone who doesn't agree with them deserves to die.

Okay, not a happy morning here. Generally life is still good. Pray for us. Pray for the women and children and people who visit public parks and just want to go to work and earn enough to feed their families. Pray for people who don't think they have the right to violently force their worldview on everyone else if only they have the strength to do it. On both sides of the line, on both sides of the oceans. Pray for us.

Congratulations President-elect Obama.

I'm listening to the roosters crowing and planes overhead.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06