Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

A couple of things - 2008-11-17

I'm grateful for: Feeling better?; A good book for reading in very short snippets (The Sandbox from Doonesbury.com); actual Kleenex.

So, I'm filling out a form on a web page, and they ask me for my zip code, and say 'please be as specific as possible.'

This fills my mind with wonder. Do people usually type in 'something in the 5800s' when asked for their zip code? Is there a whole fuzzy area of zip codes I am not aware of?

As a result of going to the dr. I had a scrip to fill that none of the pharmacies in Netivot could take care of. The whole city was out of the particular antibiotic. So TH drove me to Be'er Sheva, where we finally found a pharmacy with my drug of choice. While waiting for the pharmacist, I was seized by a coughing fit. TH ran to find a package of tissues (this is a pharmacy, they should stock tissues, right?), and after a great deal of searching - you are glad you weren't standing next to me in that line - he brought me back a bag of three bags of Kleenex!!!

This means nothing to people who can regularly find such a thing. Here, we have settled on two local brands - Gili and Sano, I kid you not - Gili is somewhat softer, but comes in the fold that doesn't pop up out of the bag. When your tissues come in plastic bags, this is a problem. So mostly we use the Sano. It's not as rough as, well, many things. Like paper towels, or sandpaper. So finding the Kleenex is a real treat.

I get home, and I actually look at the package (I couldn't tell you why, exactly, we read Kleenex packages) and it says, right where you open it to get at the tissues: 'So Much Fun!'

I mean.

Is this a special treat for Israeli Kleenex users, or have the people in the U.S. suddenly discovered some new use for tissues other than the more traditional catching flying germs and bodily expellations for fun and profit? Enquiring minds want to know.

I'm listening to roosters crowing

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06