Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Better - 2008-12-10

I'm grateful for: a better day; getting some stuff done; life, the universe and everything. :-)

For what it's worth, last night I actually slept for the first time in about a month now. I took the antihistamine and the cough syrup/asthma medicine. I honesty don't know if the medicine was what made the difference, or if I had just turned the corner - but I've taken the drugs again tonight, just to be on the safe side. I didn't take the cough syrup stuff during the day, which the dr. wants me to do, but I had to be driving and I'm not in such good shape I think I should be driving on codeine.

I hope this really means I am finally getting better. The 'crud' (thanks Art) whatever it is, doesn't seem to have hit or stuck with anyone else - just me. On the one hand I am grateful, it's bad enough to have one person this sick. But I do get tired of always being the sick one, the sickest, and so on. It's just no fair on me.

Then I think about it, I wouldn't want one of my kids to be 'the sick one,' that's for sure. And I'd rather have TH having to take care of me, than me taking care of him. At least if it was all the time. I'm perfectly willing to take turns, if that were possible.

Well, anyway, I'm still sick, but apparently better. I drove to the shuk, but was so shaky just walking to the car I used to wheelchair without question. At the shuk we got everything we wanted except a frying pan for D2. She needs a frying pan, and I am not willing to buy her a cheap non-stick thing. Cast iron frying pans don't exist here, at least that we have been able to find. There are fairly good quality stainless steel frying pans, but the place at the shuk that usually carries those things had none today.

Strawberries again, (second week), and the price was down. Yummy! Also a fellow with a citrus only stand had tangerines, and they were SO delicious. Usually you get clementines and mandarine oranges and navel and juice oranges but tangerines are rather rare. And they were so VERY good! I"ve been having some trouble eating oranges lately, my system is just not up to coping with citrus, but the tangerines (I couldn't eat just one) went down just fine. *big grins* I hope the kids haven't eaten them all by tomorrow. We bought four different types of oranges (clementines, Jaffa oranges, tangerines and juice oranges) so there is SOME hope I'll get more. My kids are worse than locusts when it comes to fresh fruit. Mind you, I am not complaining...

My arms are tired and hurting, so I probably won't be able to type much more, but I'm not giving up yet.

After the shuk we went to a hardware store to buy some sandpaper. They had no coarse sandpaper except for belt sanders, so I bought one of those, you can still use it by hand. And one sheet of medium, I wanted two but that's what they had. We want to sand the bathtub. Someone, several someones, painted the bathtub. Now the paint is peeling, and we have paint flakes of blue, white, and some off-white shade floating in the bathwater. Also the tub under the paint is in really bad shape, but we'll have to get the paint off to see how bad it is and what we can do. Yuck.

It was exciting, I'd forgotten to look up the words for 'sandpaper' and 'coarse' before leaving the house, so we had to communicate by mime and carefully used pronouns. it worked, after a fashion. *sigh*

After that we picked up some milk and baguettes (for garlic bread) and shabbos Chanukah candles (to send to D1) and came home. We were all of us sick, tired and shaky by then. S1 came along to be the strong one, and he is still sick. D3 came along because she is the shuk maven (expert), but while she is not still sick, she didn't eat well and has really bad cramps. So we were quite a mess all-in-all. S2 couldn't come along to drive because his rib is still paining him, which is why I had to drive.

Back home, poor D3 had to go to work (babysitting). I managed to get out back to feed the birds for the first time since I got sick. Then I came inside and collapsed, drifting in and out of sleep and generally a total basket case until D3's employer came by to chat. She wants to practice her English, needs to, as she is in college courses that require English. So we chatted a bit, and hopefully will be able to do more.

TH and I watched a couple of episodes of the original The Addams Family television program, that D3 had got for her birthday on dvd. I still find the program truly delightful, although what delights me is different from when I was a kid. And TH and I played a game of Iron Dragon. We got a package put together for D1 and the kids for Hannukah. We have no idea how many children we are buying for. There are two who live there full time (my grandchildren), two who live there part time (the children of my grandchildren's bio father's wife), and a girl who may or may not be there at any given time (daughter of D1's possible fiancee). I say possible fiancee because I've heard him described that way, although it doesn't seem to be the way it is working? I'm just glad I don't have to understand the menage, just buy presents.

And a couple of other housekeeping/bookkeeping sorts of errands. So it was really a much better day than we've had around here for weeks, despite my still being sick, TH dragging around like one dead, and all the other problems we've been having. Also it rained, intermittently. Not a whole lot of rain, but at this point I think we'll take almost anything.

Now I really have to stop typing and lie down to rest. Almost 2am and the body is shot. Whee, fun. Hope everyone is doing better than I am right now. ;-) Be well, all, and Gd bless.

I'm listening to Jacob Heringman (on the lute): Je Prens en Gre

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06