Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Just had to write - 2008-12-10

I'm grateful for: another good night's sleep; being able to read a bit; finally feeling like I could be better.

I'm working on reading my buddies but got siezed with an urge to start typing *now.* I probably won't be up for much longer, so if I'm going to do it, now is the time.

I am sure there are people as sick of reading about my health problems as I am of writing about them, but there it is. I am doing better, sick-wise. I slept again last night, and while I was a total basket-case until about 3pm today, once I was up and moving I actually did okay. I made it out to feed the animals, had a pleasant visit with the chickens and cats and dogs (didn't get to visit with the goats), and made it back inside without falling over or hurting myself. I even did a bit of laundry.

TH was at work all day, and eating was problematic for all of us. No one was really up to cooking anything, except S1 who decided to take a stab at making chocolate chip cookies for the first time. S1 is incapable of taking advice, he has to learn everything the hard way, so, the cookies were WAY over-sweetened, with honey and vanilla. More like candy than cookies in a way. Still, with the help of some neighbours (horrible woman and her far-from horrible young son) they didn't go begging, so it counts as a success.

Unfortunately cookies/candies don't count as food, not really, and we struggled. I don't know what S3 ended up eating, I had an apple, a tangerine, a bit of dried papaya, the crisp crumbs from the bottom of a bag (potato chips for Americans), and a little bit of tuna mixed with mayonaise and sweet pickle relish. Not the worse diet, but it was piece meal over a couple of hours and with a great deal of angst and soul-searching involved. S2 ended up having a sandwich made from the tuna, and D3 couldn't finish a sandwich she made, so she subsisted on a cup of chocolate (like people used to drink for breakfast). Hard day.

Once TH got home it all got easier. However awful he may be, and sometimes he is truly, utterly, awful, when he isn't being awful he is a blessing to have around when everyone in the house is sick or injured and we just can't cope. He almost always manages to cope.

I want to write more about the truly awful woman that came by, but I probably haven't the stamina for it, which is just as well I suppose. Still ... there are people who come into your life that make you wonder why 'he needed killing' is no longer a viable reason. Some people just do. *sigh*

Had a really good conversation with D2, in which she suggested a reason as to why D1 is the way she is. Half humourously, half seriously she said that according the I Ching, some people are just born with all of their signs in conflict. I am loathe to accept that, since it seems like me taking the easy way out, but on the other hand, I can see how it fits. I'll be interested if D2 goes any further with this, or if this was just an idle flight of fancy.

Not much else to say, we watched a couple of episodes of The Addams Family - still enjoying it very much. And I am in bed now trying to fall asleep in a timely fashion, because I have to be awake by 6am tomorrow to go to the hospital for two of the three 'triple evokes' - evoked potentials - tests, and to be seen by a neuro=opthalmologist. I am not looking forward to any of it, especially the getting up so early. I am never at my best in the morning, that is for sure. Still, none of it should be painful, and it should be over by noon. I just hope the kids will be okay here, in their various states of injured, ill, and generally miserable.

Once that is over, then I have to go shopping for food, eating being something we all want to continue doing. If we could just live on fresh fruit and veg, that would be fine, but we can't seem to manage it. Maybe it's about having so many children. I know there was a time I was able to be pretty near to vegan, but then I not only had no children, I had someone else who was doing it with me and doing most of the cooking. My kids simply won't go the fruitarian route. Not that I want them to.

Okay, goofiness aside, tomorrow is going to be a lo-ong day that starts much to early. But I do have a better attitude, probably because of having two whole night's sleep under my belt. Can we try for three, please?

Okay, enough from me. I didn't even go into any of the news that makes me want to rant. Aren't we all lucky?

I'm listening to my dratted dog barking outside, and S3 listening to Treasure Island an audio-book.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06