Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Blather all day long - 2008-12-23

I'm grateful for: yummy home-made doughnuts; some cleaning in the kitchen; occasional peace and quiet, assuming I get some - ever.

Nothing to say, not much to write, so why am I here? I don't know. I guess it's easier than thinking of something else to do...

The coughing and crud continues, but it seems to be an allergy, which I can't do anything about until the weather warms enough that I can keep my windows open. That's another couple of months, although I do have some hope that if the rains start (it's supposed to storm tonight) that that will help. Otherwise I seem to be doing okay physically. I'm weaker than a newborn kitten, almost. I can stand and walk, then I am shaking and have to go back to bed. But I *do* have the strength to get up and do stuff at least. I couldn't fall asleep last night. I spent a good chunk of the night solving math problems in my head, and dealing with stuff that made no sense around S2 going in the army and so on. But awake, not dreaming.

It's cold today, not terribly cold, but cold. Lack of sleep makes me grumpy and unwilling to do things that yesterday I would've jumped to do. I do hope it rains tonight.

Oh, yuck. I had to close my window, what is out there is NOT fresh air. It's a nasty grey-brown colour, and when the boys went outside (S1 and S2) to put the goats in the shed, 'cause we don't want THEM breathing it either, they covered their faces with scarves and S2 said he could still feel the sand going in. It's like someone picked up a chunk of the Negev and tossed it in the air. So now we're stuck in the house with the same old yucky air in here, but I guess it's better than the alternative.

The dogs are going a little bit stir-crazy. Samantha (S1's puppy), came in with a sock and couldn't get Peppito (the blind dog) to play tug of war with her. At least she's not attacking him. They did have the best time chasing the goats into the shed, at least.

Well, I guess I'm done driveling for a now. I may try and exercise, or get something done around the house, but this really nasty grey light isn't encouraging me.

***

That was exciting. It's some number of hours later (I should know how long?). I heated up chicken soup (same I made last Friday) for three of the kids, cleaned off the dishwasher (you *really* don't want to know how bad it was), wiped down the microwave inside and out (ditto, I didn't do a complete job on it at all, either). Wiped some junk off the wall, washed dishes, wiped counters, wiped off the blender, and got S1 to clean the wall over the stove a bit, and clean up the bits of dough that had got stuck to the wall last night when he was making doughnuts (I don't think I want to know).

All the fleishig (meat) dishes were washed and put away, and all the milchig (dairy) dishes that had been in the kitchen before. And I ended up eating most of S3's soup, he didn't finish it, two-thirds of a doughnut, a piece of dried papaya and some tapuchips (potato chips, or crisps).

Next-door neighbour brought over a glass of beet juice with parsley for us all, 'it's good for what ails you' to translate loosely. Then D1 phoned from the states, to tell me something silly, but she was mentally absent, I was exhausted, and the connection was bad, so it was not the most successful conversation.

D1 lives in an interesting situation (for anyone who hasn't heard about this before), in a house with the father of her children (NOT the ex-husband), his new wife, and her (the new wife's) two children who they have part-time at present I believe. Oh, and D1's children, of course.

That was an intro to trying to explain that the new wife wanted to talk to me, but now I have to throw myself together to get out the door and go to the dentist. Again. Pray for me. ;-)

I'm listening to My Life With the Thrill Kill Cult: Sex On Wheelz

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06