Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Tzeva adom - 2008-12-27

I'm grateful for: a working alarm system; garanim (sunflower seeds, the best in the world here); only three hours to sundown.

Retaliation are us. Yup. It's not like anyone wasn't expecting it.

One of my favourite news items in the last couple of days was when the PFLP (Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine?), announced that *some* of the rockets fired at Israel were a response to a senior terrorist being sentenced to 30 years in prison. My first thought (I'm goofy this way) was 'Which ones?' followed by 'how could you tell?' I mean. I mean. I MEAN!

Okay so clearly we erred in sentencing a senior terrorist, who was responsible for I don't know how many deaths (planned the attacks) to only 30 years of prison time. Wouldn't life have made more sense? Or, we could have acted like our enemies and killed him. Then we wouldn't have to worry about him being released in the next 'prisoner exchange,' (in exchange for what?). But *some* of the rockets? Come, On.

Our enemies, not the smartest.

Thank goodness.

Yes, so we just had our second (and successful) 'live' drill. Tzeva adom warning went off, our little box works btw, and TH and all the kids went under the house. Other than D3 hurting her knees, 'cause she's wearing a skirt and the ground under the house isn't any too smooth, it was a complete success. No one was blown up here.

I think the bomb landed in a nearby yeshuv, because there were a couple of booms, but none too close.

This is not good for my M.S. symptoms. The dizziness is getting worse and I feel woozy (from the dizziness).

I decided after the last tzava adom alert (and 'drill'), to keep my slippers on. The floor is just too cold. D3 put pants on so all went well on that front. Only one of the dogs followed everyone under the house, but Balta is safely ensconced under my bed (very possibly the safest place in the house, including under the house). Chamudah won't leave my side, and the blind dog can't follow closely enough, unfortunately.

I do feel bad for the goats, which are tied up outside and can't go anywhere, but there just aren't any choices there. Since they have managed to kill more farm animals than people here, I think the goats are in greater danger, but, who knows? Hashem is in charge and all that.

One thing I *won't* be doing tonight is phoning my mother to reassure her that we are all right. The last time I did that, she acted like I was bothering her. "Oh, I just assumed you were okay." Fine. I expect that if the news of the counter-attacks actually gets out, or if RS is paying attention, she'll be phoning as soon as she thinks she can. It's easy to tell who matters and who doesn't in my family. From where I'm sitting, those who care, matter.

I should get back to celebrating the sabbath day. Moments of dreidl punctuated by moments of running like mad. And chocolate. Lots and lots of chocolate. J.K. Rowling got that right.

I'm listening to my sons goofing about in my room.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06