Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Too late Saturday night/early Sunday morning - 2008-12-28

I'm grateful for: us all being okay; TH staying home from work today; books, books and more books.

I just read my email - wanted to respond, at least to a couple and just couldn't seem to. Prayed about it, seems not to be the things to do.

I came over here to diaryland, got a new note, and read a few friends who've updated. Wanted to leave comments - couldn't manage it. After the second time praying about it decided to let it be. Comments are not for me today. Such is life.

No comments either on the news coverage on the latest heating up of the ongoing war.

You know, the ongoing war that actually is a continuation of the war that was started when 22 arab states jumped on the newly declared country of Israel back in 1948? Yes, that one. No peace was ever declared. We have periods of less or no overt hostilities and periods of open warfare, and everything in-between with all sorts of names like 'the war of attrition' and the 'intifada' and so forth and so on. The fact is that the modern state of Israel has been in a continuous state of declared war since it began.

Anyway, I am as dependent on the media for my news as anyone outside of Israel. And while I may have a different perspective and greater knowledge about the conflicts history and so on, about casualties and who did what to whom in the last 24 hours (okay, 16), I have no better clue.

Actually, that isn't entirely true. It turns out that our early-warning gadget allows us to get messages from the head of the moshav (we have a head of the defensive arm of our moshav, he's the one who has the M-16 - we're not seriously prepared for defense here in any way). So we got a little bit of information today. Not all the helpful stuff, though, so we didn't know we were supposed to stay in our 'safe' places for five full minutes after the alarm went off. Oops. Fortunately it wasn't a problem today. Next time we'll know better.

I'm hurt and hurting tonight. I don't know how much of it is physical, how much between my ears. I am still crippled, which was driven home to me after we went to our 'safe' places the third time and I realized that I was utterly exhausted. If I had an actually safe room, I would just stay there, but as it is I can't stay blocking the hall, or crouched between my desk and my bed for any length of time. So a couple of times I was just too tired to move when the alarm came. Since I am still here, I guess it was okay.

Talked on the phone with several people tonight. It wasn't until the third (or so) conversation that I actually thought about the fact that I moved into a war zone. Hmmm. I wouldn't have done anything differently if I'd thought about it. I have only tried to do the next right thing, and live according to Hashem's will, and this is where we ended up. But it makes me wonder about the type of people who move into war zones.

One reason for living here is that the cost of living is WAY lower than anywhere else. With the tax breaks, and the lower rents, I don't think we could realistically afford to live anywhere else right now.

I had a nice conversation with some Canadian friends, and learned more about the Canadian election system and government than I'd ever imagined. Now I am interested in following the elections - I feel like I have an interest in the outcome. I also spoke with RS and FB. FB hadn't been paying any attention and was unaware of the excitement that has started at this end of the country. I spoke with D1, and let her know a bit of what is going on, and reassured her to the best of my ability that all is well. It actually didn't require much, as D1 was almost entirely wrapped up with herself. Probably a blessing today.

Then I got a phone call from a friend who lives in Ma'ale Adumim. She is the only person who phoned to find out how we are doing. It's nice to have someone care enough to call. She's also been terribly busy with kid's stuff and a visit from her mother, a play that she was in, and another play that she has a son rehearsing for. Busy, busy, busy. We are hoping to get together on Tuesday, but who can imagine what will happen?

I got an email from a student of RS. RS is a math professor, and one of her students is arriving here next week, I don't know Sunday or Monday or Tuesday. His ride got called up for military duty, so he asked if we could pick him up at the airport. I have no doubt we will either be able to get him, or can find a friend to get him from the airport. I'm looking forward to it. It's so nice to get to be there when someone first comes to Israel. A kind of a blessing, and it makes a bit of a bond.

S3 read Sam's Wagon to TH and I, and only needed help with the word 'out.' I don't know why that one, but he definitely was having trouble with it. It was very cute. TH and I and D3 and S2 watched an episode of the Addams Family - actually we watched two, now that i think about it. We heard some booms during the shows, but no alarms.

Then we all headed off to bed. D3 made cookies, which were yummy, but upset my throat and I was coughing and choking for a bit. Which is one reason I am still awake at 3:30am. Another reason is that the stupid dog (Chamudah) somehow managed to soak a large patch on my down comforter, through the cover, and we had to deal with that right away, 'cause this is a bad season for mold anyway. And the cat decided to make life difficult. But now I'm here with no cats, dogs, flies, mosquitos or other annoyances and should really go to sleep, if I can. Please Hashem, I really need the sleep, before I spend another day bouncing in and out of bed in response to the tzeva adom warnings.

Lots of things I tried to do today didn't work out, but I did succeed in studying Hebrew with S2, so that's good. And TH spoke to D2, so she knows we're okay and how everything is. I am SO tired.

Good night

I'm listening to The Beatles: Maxwell's Silver Hammer

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06