Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Boom, boom, boom, boom - 2008-12-29

I'm grateful for: a spot of sunshine in an overcast, great and rainy day; the kids getting a trail ride; extra cable channels.

Good morning! Okay, it's after noon now (12:02), but I did wake up while it was still morning. To the tune of the tzeva adom alarm. Whee! We're all still okay, and (Barukh Hashem) it has started raining again. I don't know if it's really true, but it SEEMS as if they fire a whole lot less rockets when it's raining.

TH has taken D3 and S3 off to their riding lessons. An hour later than originally scheduled, but otherwise no problem. He also had to stop in Netivot --

Wow, I had typed a whole lot more than this, and it's all gone! I can't even remember so much what I typed. Rats!

Well, anyway, as it happens, rather than getting a 'lesson' the kids are going on a trail ride, and it sounds like perhaps TH will get to go, too.

A neighbour just phoned to say that our cable television provider has turned on ALL the channels for everyone in the south. Even those not in the war zone. Should I cheer, or pout? Sometimes I worry that I don't take the war seriously enough. I mean, I DO. It's the threat to my own safety that I don't take very seriously. Hashem is in charge, and in the meantime I can appreciate percs like getting to watch the pay channels for free, can't I?

***

It's a while later. That's another tzeva adom alarm ringing, and I'm not getting up. If you don't get to read this then you'll know that was a bad idea.

I'm waiting to hear from TH about him and the kids and the trail ride. Maybe we'll splurge for some McDonald's for lunch. Crap, I know, but the kids like it, it's a real treat for them, and it means no needing to prepare food. When we had the farm we never ate fast food. Of course, we had better access to lots of good, healthy stuff that required no, or almost no, preparation. I think beans and rice is too much for me today.

There've been several hits today. I notice the NYT reported about 300 dead in Gaza, but not a word about our dead. Okay, okay, I know. I'll shut up about it now.

One of the dead was an arab (Israeli) workman in Ashkelon. Then, some arab repairmen ran amok with knives in Modi'in Illit, stabbing four, I think. Now Jews will be far less likely to hire arab repairmen, which will again impact their jobs and economic condition, but what can we do? I don't know if the Jews who hired these two arabs knew them personally. I wouldn't avoid anyone I knew well enough, but I wouldn't want to just invite some arabs into my home to repair my mazgan. Jewish repair-people don't tend to run amok with knives.

Of course there are many more types here than just Jews and Arabs. And Xtians and Druze and Bedouin. I can't begin to remember them all, but this is a truly multicultural society in a way few others on the globe can claim, since we all live together, cheek by jowl as it were. I'm not sure if I should differentiate the different types of Christians (see, I can type it out) or not. There are so many and they make my head spin. And we have the secular people who claim not to be members of any of the aforementioned groups (that's in addition to secular Jews, Arabs, Christians and so on). Oy, oy, oy.

I don't know, I'm just sort of rambling on here. I believe it is now safe to leave our 'safe' rooms, if we had them, which we don't. Our next-door neighbour doesn't even have anywhere to go to - he just steps outside his house and stands on the side furthest from Gaza. I am really glad we don't see many bombs here. The illusion that people have outside of the area of us shivering in our bomb-shelters is actually a bit too rosy for the reality. Although, as I've said before, where we are is rather more fortunate. My next-door neighbour is not the only one, and there are elderly people who literally can't leave their unprotected homes, and what to do about them? And us cripples.

The Bedouin, at least the ones who come here, are still nomadic enough, and they are just staying far away. Good for them!

Well, I've nattered on about the war and people and bombs and the media and all that long enough for now. I'm going to try and check out some of our new, expanded cable access. S2 says we are getting a lot more Arab stations - Saudi Arabia and Jordan and I can't remember who else. And a bunch of Indian television (as in the country, India). Some Russian 'period' pieces - movies? It's possible. Some BBC Prime (jolly) and there doesn't seem to be any extra sports. Our American friends here will be disappointed.

First I need to get dressed. No, first I need to get the animals off of me. Then dressed, then get to the family room. So it's a multi-step process, each step being somewhat harder for me than an able-bodied person, but with Hashem's help I'll make it. :-)

I'm listening to the Talking Heads: Life During Wartime (of course)

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06