Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Hebrew lessons - 2009-01-12

I'm grateful for: not freezing; finishing another book; a candle that looks like a sufganiyah (doughnut). I'm not the only one who thinks about taking a bite out of it when not thinking.

I don't know what to write. I have Hebrew droning in the background (making several audio disks of a Hebrew language program fit on one mp3 disk, and it's taking several steps). It makes it hard to think coherently.

Woke up way too early to a tzeva adom. I couldn't move, couldn't get out of bed, so I thought about the fact I am on the side of the house farthest from Gaza, and the only real risk is from shrapnel or broken glass if it comes in this side of the house, and pulled my down comforter over my head.

Not that we were hit. Barukh Hashem.

TH went to work. We bought a new office chair and a set of disks last week, and the disks were half price. I wanted TH to buy another stack if they were still on sale, and then today we decided we wanted another chair. Well, it turns out that it is buy one item, get the second one for half price. So that worked. We're very happy with the chairs, and I have two stacks of double-density disks for a steal. Happy-happies.

My body didn't perk up during the day. I sat in the new chair and worked on getting the Hebrew language course on the computer and in a form that we could use it. I'm still at that, as the whole audio program thing is taking way too long. It's happening, though, so I'm not complaining. Too much.

I didn't read any news today at all. S2 told me one or two items he thought worth passing on. I can't remember any of them right now.

TH got hold of the neuro's office, and it was agreed to postpone my appointment. We are to call back in a couple of weeks and see how things are going. That's a relief, which the other news today was not. I'd forgotten all about going in for (yet another) root canal. This is another one I probably wouldn't need if the filling had been put in correctly. I wonder why they make me go through this - why didn't they just say our dental care is crap, you're going to end up losing all your teeth eventually, so just give it up and have them replaced and save yourself a lot of pain and money. But, no. *sigh*

I have an appointment to see a dr. (not my regular dr.) tomorrow morning to try and get a scrip for some valium, which I really must have before going in for the root canal. I'm going to be dealing with the same woman who kept on drilling despite the fact that the anesthetic wasn't working last time. The one who cost me another tooth, which split and had to be pulled and still hasn't been replaced (no money).

To make it even more lovely, according to the head dentist, the anesthetic they use (not novocaine) works better or worse depending on how 'calm' you are. So I'm going to see someone who refused to stop drilling despite the fact that the anesthetic wasn't working and I'm not supposed to be agitated because that will keep the anesthetic from working. I mean!!!!!

BTW, I can spell anesthetic, I just can't cope with this keyboard. So we live with that sad little 'e' there. Such is life.

TH, D3 and S2 watched the first half hour of The Village with me. I have no idea why I am watching it. It is one of those movies I avoided like the plague when it came out, and was perfectly happy not having seen it. So, my sister sent it to me on dvd. It's been sitting on my shelf for months. I finally just caved, I guess. It wasn't too awful, but I already know that it's not going to be a worthwhile use of my time. I'm thinking of it as time spent with my family, which is silly because I spent lots of time with my family, but somehow watching a movie together is different. I think tomorrow night we'll watch more of Richard III. Definitely won't feel like that was a waste of time at the end of it.

Another tzeva adom bookended the day. There was a phone call from MMF, who was more or less rational (a one word way of saying able to converse). We talked about the war, and news coverage (she's just discovered that CNN doesn't tell everything that is going on), weather and a bit of politics. My favourite part of the conversation was when she was talking about how cold it was and I asked if she'd heard how bad it was in Europe, and she responded that it was worse there because a cord of wood costs $100! Mind you, she isn't PAYING for the wood, her husband is selling it from their 40+ acre stand of woods. I didn't even bother to argue with her, though. No point.

How about the global warming, though, huh?

My back hurts and I just can't type anymore so I'm off to bed I hope. Be well, all, and Gd bless,

I'm listening to Hebrew audio-lessons. *sigh*

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06