Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

I'm kind of hiding out - 2009-01-27

I'm grateful for: a very happy 9yo; new chicks and roosters sold; D2 - seemingly happy with her life at last.

The cease-fire is over. Oh, we are not shooting at THEM - that would be evil Israeli aggression don't you know. So instead they are shooting at us, and we are ducks in a barrel. Again. One soldier dead this morning - and if it was only soldier against soldier, as tragic is that would be, it would be in some way acceptable. Mortars launched at farming communities are not acceptable. At least to me.

I am in a foul mood. Not because of the resumed shooting. That is just the same-old-same-old. Although whatever is causing my foul mood is also rather the same-old-same-old. It's the pain. That awful, sometimes completely unbearable pain that has never really gone away. Okay, it did go away for a while there, I have to acknowledge that. Maybe for as much as a year. But - one year pain-free out of the last twenty-five or so - just isn't good enough.

So. We're going to watch the latest Dr. Who Xmas special in an hour or so. TH had to run into Netivot to sort out all kinds of bills for dental care. Honestly if I wasn't paying all these dental bills, we would be reasonably comfortable on TH's income and my disability. We're talking ten percent or more of our income, not including what we pay for membership in the sick fund, is going for dentistry. How on earth are people supposed to managed? It is outrageous.

In more happy news, we have nine new chicks. Two hens hatched them out, and we put the remaining eight or nine eggs under a heatlamp to see if they will hatch in the next day or so. If they do, we win. If not, we've not lost anything but a few shekel of electricity. The second hen hatched her chicks in our neighbour's shed. He was really good about it, but once the chicks had hatched he wanted them out of there, so we put them in the small lul with the black rooster. The black rooster is having a fine time acting the dad -nstrutting around, watching for threatening dangers and other generally rooster-ish things to do.

If one hasn't spent time watching chickens in a flock one wouldn't know that roosters do actually participate in the care of the chicks, intervening between them and dangers like us, or the cats, and presumably in the wild getting eaten for their pains. They also will call the chicks to them and show them something edible, which is how the chicks know what is okay to eat - the hen or rooster show them.

Last night, the black hen, who has one chick, was eating in the big lul, and I saw her pick up a piece of cooked rice in her mouth and put it down in front of her chick. Who promptly ate it. Chickens in larger flocks naturally want to break up into smaller family units - with, at least in the flocks we've had so far - one uber-rooster, who (literally) rules the roost, and any number of secondary roosters who gather around them some number of the hens who will follow their calls. Remaining extra roosters are driven off to scratch around the outsides edges of the flocks territory - allowed to eat as long as they don't trespass too nearly on any of the accepted roosters prerogatives (which, interestingly, doesn't always include staying off of the hens).

So, that's my happy news and discourse about chickens. When we got our very first chickens (lo, these many years ago) I used to sit outside and watch them, we called it 'chicken T.V.' When we later got ducks, the ducks were 'channel 2.' I'd always rather watch a flock of birds than something on television. If only it didn't hurt so much getting out there, and sitting up. I *really* need some kind of seat/sofa/lounge that I can have outside for when I am in no shape to sit up. It would be so much healthier than staying in the house all day. I have two locations now, my bed and an arrangement in the salon, for when I can't keep myself up, either because of weakness or pain. Two places are better than just one, for sure, but...

Anyway, there is probably much more but I haven't the brains to remember it. I don't *like* being shot at. I also don't like living in pain. I do like having chicks, and goats, and dogs, and cats, and I am looking into geese, or ducks, and maybe sheep. Or a donkey. S1 is writing, D2 is in school and doing very well, D1 is being completely stupid and there is absolutely nothing I can do about it - so I'm trying not to fret about it. If I can't fix it or change it, I didn't cause it, then it's not my problem. But - ...

Yeah, well, here adoptive parents called the police/social services on them again. And D1 is acting as if it's nothing very bad. They only just got the kids back and she has learned absolutely NOTHING from the experience. Nothing I can do. Absolutely nothing. I sent her over $100, which I can't afford, to get her daughter's birth certificate (don't even ask me why she hasn't gotten it), and she has done nothing about it. I am unable to do anything from this side of the ocean besides pray. Actually, if I was on that side of the Atlantic, I probably couldn't do anything much, either.

If D1 wants to screw up her own life - there's nothing I can do about it, and truly, she's an adult, it's her choice. But she is screwing up the lives of those two poor children. ... There's nothing more I can say.

Okay, I'm really off. I was trying to be upbeat, but I seem to keep getting beaten down. S3 is very happy, at least. Horseback riding yesterday, then he made it to level 3 on Wingnuts, a stupid computer game today. And Dr. Who. Joyous joy for a nine-year-old boy. I can be happy about that.

I'm listening to a Harry Potter audio book that is playing in S3's room.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06