Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Filler, sort of - 2009-01-28

I'm grateful for: a new book (Nick Hornby - Slam); having paid the television tax; things that take my mind off of other things.

I got to watch the latest Dr. Who Xmas special (2008) today. It was much fun. :-)

I got attacked by the news and my email today. The news, well, I'm still coming to terms with the media being the enemy. I'm also really amazed that they let some of these people out in public (unpopulated. Sheesh). You know, if someone Republican said something that stupid they'd never let him/her forget it. Never.

Okay, there I go again. Sorry. My email box was a different sort of attack. So much mail that I still haven't even seen some of it. And it's 4am and I am falling over tired. I give up. What did I do for this? Just dumb luck. I go days without much more than a few emails from friends, and then this. Avalanche. My spam folder got it too, with about three times as much spam as I usually get. Not that I read it, but it gives me the number of spam messages in the folder, just in case I'm interested, I guess.

I don't know if I've mentioned the new chicks. We have eight of them in the small lul, and one of them fell out and lay on the ground *under* the lul for a while. We don't know how long. It was pretty flattened, didn't look good. Fortunately we had the brilliant idea of putting it under the heat lamp we have on for the eggs. Within about half an hour, it was up and perky and cheeping, so TH brought it outside and it settled right back down under the hen along with it's seven siblings.

Our other mama hen which I thought only had one chick, has two. Yesterday TH had said he'd seen two of them, but when I went out to feed them only the one was there. Where on earth was the other chick? I haven't a clue. This morning, though, it was out there, cute as can be, the most adorable little black ball of fluff. The mother hen is also black, but it is rare (at least for us) to have an all black chick. I rather hope it stays black, even though the Ethiopians (our market for extra birds) in Netivot don't like black birds. I am told they think they are unlucky.

S2 goes in tomorrow for his Hebrew test, and he was a complete mess of nerves tonight. When things didn't go according to a plan he had made, he got even more stressed and was really freaking out a bit. I saw him off to bed around eleven p.m., where I hope he fell asleep quickly. It's not like he wasn't tired enough. It's also not as if this test is that important. He took a Hebrew test for the army before, when he barely knew a few words, didn't know anything but the present tense of verbs, that sort of thing. He's going to be able to go in there tomorrow and demonstrate that he has acquired an awful lot of language in just a few months. And he's got four more months before he's to actually go in the army. He'll be fine. He's just eighteen, though, and still hugely untried. I am really looking forward to his coming home tomorrow with good news. I hope.

I talked to D2 a bit about what is going on with D1. D2 was utterly speechless. As would I be, in fact I was when I first heard it all. I found a message from D1 on my answering service tonight after it was *way* too late to call her. For reasons best known to the internet gods, I get my messages anywhere from a few minutes to a week or more after they are left. There is no rhyme or reason to it. And the phone didn't ring when she phoned, either. She phoned about 4pm our time, and we were most assuredly home.

Well, D1 is still on the other side of the ocean. So I keep asking Hashem to take care of them and try to go about my business. I got a good, long, hot soak in the tub and my hair washed, which just doesn't happen enough. I didn't put any olive oil on my hair, which usually do, because my hair was so greasy that I couldn't bear the thought of putting oil on top of all that grease. Now I will pay the price until I wash my hair again as my hair is fine and somewhat curly (hard to tell 'cause it's so long), and just snarls and is difficult to deal with.

There have been booms again tonight. I don't know what to make of it. There's been no notice that we have to be prepared to take cover, so I'm just assuming that the booms are something other than bombs being thrown our way. I hope.

I wanted to fall asleep a couple of hours ago, but I had to get up to let the cat out. And the dog in. And the other dog in. And the dog out. And to tuck S3 in again. And to let the dog in again. And so on. The last time I let the dog out I decided she could just stay out until either TH got up or it was daytime. Of course that means she is scratching and scraping at the door. I don't know how he sleeps through it, it is a really loud and annoying sound.

It's been a highly emotional day in many ways. I'm off to bed. I don't know that there was much point in writing this except that I didn't want to continue to leave my upsets as the most recent entry. Don't go back and read the last two entries unless you really want to hear about it. Oh, and about the new chicks, I got that in there, too.

I'm listening to the Platters: I'll Never Smile

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06