Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Some things - 2009-02-19

I'm grateful for: a nap, and an open door; being able to be there for my kids, despite special challenges; not being 'flat' broke, as we are broke.

As I continue to struggle with computer problems, life merrily keeps rolling along.

I went to a wedding last night. This is not particularly significant except that when I nibbled around the food offered (pre-wedding), I had the closest thing to a slider I have had in a couple of decades. I assume people (some people) know what a 'slider' is - question mark. No, really. I wasn't like a huge fan of Wh1te C@stle, but I've had a slider or two in my lifetime. It really was a hoot, though, to find myself eating one at a Moroccan-Israeli wedding by Kiryat Malachi. Distinctive.

Today among other excitements I found myself locked into my room for several hours. It was S2 and me. I don't remember exactly what happened, he came into the room for something, shut the door, and we couldn't get it open again. S1 outside the door and S2 inside tried everything they could think of to do, but nothing worked. I made them stop when it came to literally breaking down the door, saying that TH was on his way home, and I wasn't going to have them wrecking the house until TH had at least had a chance at doing the job by disassembly, or some trick we couldn't think of.

S2 and I ended up spending I think three hours in here. I don't know how long really. S1 fed the animals and coped as best he could with dogs who went a bit berserk, D3 suffering from PMS, her braces having just been adjusted and mild cold symptoms, and S3 for whom nothing was really wrong, but he found me being locked in and him out stressful anyway. I napped for a bit, then found a copy of How to Steal a Million online and S2 and I watched that until TH came home and tried to open the door. He did everything he could from outside the room, then got a ladder and climbed up to my window and tried what he could do from this side.

Finally after everything else had been tried, I told S1 to go ahead and break the door in. Which he did, quite impressive really, it took a few kicks, two or three. Now my door won't close, but for the moment this is better. It is going to be hard in the morning, when I can't sleep in and the kids and noise will be in here no matter what we try to do. Sometime tomorrow TH is going to have to go to town and buy hardware to try and fix the door. At least he didn't have to take off the hinges with the sawzall. *sigh*

Computer problems aren't getting any better, but financial problems have come to roost. I'm a little bit frightened, I don't know how we will manage. I know that somehow we will, but it is scary. I'm thinking at the moment that we will raid my dollars, which are being saved for property taxes on the place in Vermont. When needs must, and we have no money in our overdraft, the credit card is max-ed out and, well, it's bleak. And I still haven't a single fully functioning computer.

This typing is too much of a struggle. I want to thank all of you for your kind notes and comments. I just can't say how much I appreciated them all. It's been rough around here lately, and that's not even including the booms we got this afternoon. More kassams headed our way. I'm working on just staying right in my head right now.

I'm not really listening to anything.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06