Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Tired, mostly happy, tired. - 2009-03-13

I'm grateful for: being able to do so much today; two broken keyboards, that work better than either one individually; a day in which TH isn't going to vanish on me (tomorrow).

I'm back to using two unworking keyboards. It is challenging, but at least with the second keyboard I get a delete key. This is not a small thing.

I haven't time or energy for much. Stlil bottle feeding the kittens, who are still alive and apparently thriving despite our apparently over-feeding them. We have to get used to stopping feeding them before they are ready to stop. This is hard, as our quite natural fear is that the aren't getting enough.

TH and S2 (who is feeling better, a bit, thanks) and I drove to Be'er Sheva today with Y., a volunteer who was planning on moving on to another farm near Be'er Sheva today. He didn't make it, some kind of snafu, so now he will be staying here for the next few days. He got dragged along shopping with us, and we managed the food shopping in reasonable time and without too much stress.

We also stopped at an army store, and started S2 off on the stuff he will need for when he goes in the army (May 5! - EEK!). He got a VERY expensive new watch, some t-shirts, a knife, flashlight, little notebook, and a chain for his dogtags. The store we were at, a tiny one, didn't have any suitable backpacks, and I decided to wait and go to a better equipped store before continuing. It was 1000shekel, not a small amount, at least for us. He still also needs a new cell phone, and an assorted collection of odds and ends from bandages and sunscreen to shoe polish and lighter fluid. It's getting awfully real to me...

Also while we were in the car he got a phone call from someone in the army going over what he needs to do to get into the combat engineer training that he wants. Yikes!

The other thing of note we picked up as a couple of 'beware of dog' signs for the house. This is very important, apparently, if you don't have signs posted then you can be legally responsible for damages, even if it is a burglar who gets bitten. With the signs up, we are off the hook. It really is that simple here for the most part, although I'm sure there are situations &tc...

When we got home, we had a cook out, building a fire in the backyard, roasting hotdogs and our (two) marshmellows. Also TH made falafel, yum.

TH went to a wedding of the son of a neighbour here, he says it was the wedding of the century, with in the ballpark of 1000 people there. Wow. The rest of us sat around and watched Dr. Who, made goo-goo noises at the kittens, and tried to keep the dogs separated, away from the kittens, and happy.

Finally I am in bed. D3 is in my room still, so we can take care of the kittens together, and I haven't managed to make any of the phone calls I thought I was going to. Tomorrow is another day to try. And maybe go shopping with TH. It's very rare that I can, so I'd kind of like to give it a try. If I can. I hurt an awful lot now, but I was able to do so much today I can't help getting hopeful. Again. *sigh* I never learn. *wry grin*

Must sleep now. Amazing how I can go on when I haven't time, energy, or anything to say, isn't it?

I'm listening to Los Lobos: Set Me Free (Rosa Lee)

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06