Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Home for shabbos - 2009-05-10

I spent a bunch of the available free time the last few days catching up on reading diaries - too busy to do much and that seemed what I wanted/needed to do. I'm still not sure I want to write or what to write. It's been - interesting.

S2 came home this weekend, unexpectedly. Apparently they give them leave the first weekend as a policy now. So S2 phoned here at the crack of dawn Friday, freaking out and heading home, if only we could figure out how he was going to get here. The army didn't bother to worry about little things like that. They put him (and a whole lot of other new soldiers) on a bus for Karmiel. Now Karmiel is a lovely city, but it isn't exactly a crossroads for getting anywhere else in the country. Seriously.

He also had a number of 'musts' - things that absolutely had to happen before he went back to base, like, buying some new sport shoes. Okay, that one wasn't a problem, but the broken backpack was. And the torn uniform pants which had to be mended (not torn on the seam, really bad luck) in the few hours between when he could get down here and everything closed for shabbos.

***

I started that and fell asleep in the middle of writing it. To make a VERY long story short, Everything got done, somehow, including stuff I didn't manage to get in up there. My body is completely and utterly done in. I just got up at about 5am to take a few pictures of S2 in uniform before he went off to return to base, and who knows when they will finally show up online? Not I.

I'm going to try and get back to sleep now. Getting up at 5am didn't allow for anything near a full night's sleep.

On the plus side, I got to sleep with Balta, our big, mostly white Australian sheep dog next to me in bed. Now that is a good dog to cuddle with. :-)

She wouldn't come back in my room after we got up. She's like that. *sigh* Won't spend a whole night with anyone.

The sun is almost up, the birds are chirping, the laundry is going, the roosters are crowing. I hope I CAN get back to sleep.

It really was lovely to have S2 home again for shabbos, despite all the problems and the fact that I didn't get to rest so I've crashed physically. I don't know when I will see him again. Very sad.

Good night/morning all.

I'm listening to all the fore-mentioned, and a bit of my thoughts, too.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06