Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Friday, just after midnight - 2009-05-14

I'm greatful for: the day just passed; modern automatic laundry machines; a day of rest.

Just a few seconds after midnight - that's a change. I slept again, at least eight hours (that's two nights in a row!) and I feel almost, well, awful. *sigh* I thought the second night I should at least feel better.

It was that kind of a day, though. Everyone felt awful, the air was heavy and smelled kind of bad, it was too hot, just kind of generally miserable, and everyone in the family felt it. So at least it wasn't just me.

That made it a difficult day, but then everything just sort of went wrong as well. We did accomplish some important things. S1 has a letter from the dr. to bring to the army. He's supposed to fax it before his appointment on Monday, but we've been trying to fax it all day and it's not going through. We did succeed in faxing it to the main phone # at the base, but also can't get hold of anyone on the phone to tell them/ask them about it. *sigh*

We went to the pharmacy to buy vitamin C, because last time that was the cheapest place to get it, but it was outrageously priced and they didn't have quite what we wanted. I still bought, because S2 needs some to take with him to his base. But only the barest minimum. Argh. *sigh*

We rented a couple of movies to watch, I can't remember the names of either of them. I hope at least one of them is worth it. We went grocery shopping and spending quite a reasonably amount of money filled out our needs for shabbos, AND I got a proper credit card. For the first time since we moved to Israel! I don't know why this should excite me, credit cards are bad news generally - bad, bad, bad, bad, bad. But. We need them. If only because we cannot order things from off the internet or from the U.S. or U.K. or other places outside of Israel without one. So, I am guardedly happy. Also, I get it for the first year I pay absolutely nothing. I don't pay interest, there are no card fees or anything. So that is a complete win. Now i have to transfer all of my regular payments - cable, VOIP phone, U.S. mail box, and so on to the new card. Because, who would turn down no interest and no fees? Yes, I'll probably have to switch it again when the year is up, but probably not, and even if I do, then I think a year of no fees is worth it.

Lessee what else. Tried to get a watch repaired, no go. Tried to get TH's cel phone fixed or repaired, no go. Tried to make an appointment with a dr. to talk to him about my taking the synthroid (or eltroxin as it is called here) at the same place I see the acupuncturist. I want to talk to a regular md, but one who has a clue about eastern medicine. Anyway, that was another no-go.

We invited some friends over for a cookout, and the fire was impossible (it took half a box of matches, and I CAN start a fire). Then the winds took to strongly gusting and you could pick a side of the fire to sit on and be safe. We were running late, and we'd run out of gaz (propane) yesterday. TH had arranged to have a couple of gaz balloons delivered today, but then found a break in the line. *sigh* He taped it up and went ahead with it, which worked, thank goodness, for making falafel and chips (french fries) which was good as we all wanted them, and didn't blow us all up. ;-)

We also roasted hot dogs over the fire, which worked out well enough I suppose. It was a nice visit, and if we hadn't all felt just horrible it probably would have been fun. Fortunately the guests, a mom and her three kids, seemed to have a good time. The mom is already nine months pregnant, and waiting for the baby. Her husband is spending every free moment at the hospital with his father. It's a hard situation for everyone.

The children are 1, 3 and 5. The older two are girls, and quite cute. The oldest kind of gets on my nerves as she is always snatching things away from the younger, but I keep my mouth shut and my hands to myself and it all works. The like to do our wooden jigsaw puzzles, and to play with Kitten. The youngest, a boy, usually clings to his mom because he's afraid of the dogs, but today he not only toddled off by himself, but also patted Chamudah on her head, touched her nose, and petted her. He did get growled at a little bit, but overall it was a great success.

We read a bit of the Famous Five (by Enid Blyton) to Eliyahu, it's the third one, don't ask me to remember the name. And then the rest of us watched Defiance together while TH went off to play soccer. Wow, that was a good movie. Intense, and not entirely easy to watch, but very, very good. I wanted to watch it no matter what because I really love Liev Shreiber, but also I know the story of the Bielski partisans so that was a matter of interest as well. It was just great. Not suitable for younger viewers (why we watched it after S3 was in bed). I'm going to have to buy it now, and then I'm going to have to stick it on a high shelf so I can watch it again when I am ready to cope - say, in a year or two maybe. Intense.

D3 has Kitten tonight, so I am actually alone in my bedroom. Doesn't happen so often. S1 is doing his laundry in the middle of the night, having forgotten to do it during the day (Thursday he gets to have the laundry machines). I wanted to tell him I won't be home tomorrow morning so he should feel free to do some then, but he vanished, and I wasn't going to stay up for him. It'll be okay.

Tomorrow is going in to Tel Aviv for my acupuncture treatment, we're taking S3's friend home and S3 is coming along on the drive. He will get to shop at the shuk in Tel Aviv (the one by the bus station), and also maybe visit the bus station. Hopefully we will get to see D2 while we are there.

We still have to keep trying to fax and to call the army for S1. And I have to return some phone calls as well. I am SO VERY SICK of the telephone, I cannot tell you. *sigh*

And then is shabbos. I can't wait. Really can't wait. I hope it is a good, restful day, I can use one.

I guess more stuff will have to wait for later. Be well, all, and Gd bless -

I'm listening to the washing machine spinning in the next room.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06