Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Proust Questionnaire - 2009-05-17

I'm grateful for: another full eight hours sleep last night; getting to start over, I guess; things are better, really. Even if 'better' still looks pretty pathetic.

I copied this from Annanotbob - sorry, no link - who got it from ... someone else. I'm pretty lame tonight. I don't know why I did it. I don't know why I am posting it. I hope there is someone who is interested, so it's not a complete waste.

Proust Questionnaire


The Proust Questionnaire has its origins in a parlor game popularized (though not devised) by Marcel Proust, the French essayist and novelist, who believed that, in answering these questions, an individual reveals his or her true nature. Here is the basic Proust Questionnaire.

1. What is your idea of perfect happiness? Not questioning - that is, being happy and not questioning it.

2. What is your greatest fear? Bad things happening to any of my kids or grandkids.

3. What is the trait you most deplore in yourself? My near-total insecurity.

4. What is the trait you most deplore in others? Being mean (as in spiteful, not tight with money)<--What she said.
5. Which living person do you most admire? Maya Angelou
6. What is your greatest extravagance? Computers - four of them in the house, and I am planning to buy another one.
7. What is your current state of mind? Tired, doubting myself, 
pretty pathetic really. Sleep will help.
8. What do you consider the most overrated virtue? 'Being nice'
9. On what occasion do you lie? When I get flustered or scared and forget not to (seriously - lying is my automatic response, it takes constant work not to)
10. What do you most dislike about your appearance? Pretty much everything.

11. Which living person do you most despise? It's a toss-up between my mother, Diane M. (former neighbour) and B.-T. - current neighbour - all mothers who couldn't possibly care less about the well-being of their children.
12. What is the quality you most like in a man? Confidence.
13. What is the quality you most like in a woman? Compassion.

14. Which words or phrases do you most overuse? Cool. Totally.
15. What or who is the greatest love of your life? My kids and grandkids.

16. When and where were you happiest? In the northeast kingdom of Vermont, building our home, with no electricity, telephone, insurance, connections.

17. Which talent would you most like to have? Any.

18. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be? I'd be able to recognize and know what I am good at.
19. What do you consider your greatest achievement? Six healthy children who don't hate me.

20. If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what would it be? Do I have to come back? Can't I be a ghost or something, and just watch?
21. Where would you most like to live? Where I am now, but with major remodeling done to the house.

22. What is your most treasured possession? I don't know - probably my gold 'chain mail' mesh earrings. Because of what they mean to me, not the financial value.

23. What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery? Being a child in my mother's house. -- Knowing you are unwanted.

24. What is your favorite occupation? I don't know, I guess I'd have to try some to find out.
25. What is your most marked characteristic? I haven't a clue.
26. What do you most value in your friends? Being able to talk honestly to them and to listen when they trust me enough to do the same
27. Who are your favorite writers? I don't have favourite writers, I have favourite books, stories, that are written by Shakespeare, Piers Anthony, George R. Stewart, Isaac Asimov, Enid Blyton, Terry Pratchett, Walter M. Miller, Jr., Robert Merle, Whichever one was the writer from Gilbert & Sullivan, Georgette Heyer, Richard Adams, Connie Willis, Zenna Henderson, and so on.
28. Who is your hero of fiction? David (of David and Goliath - is that fiction?)
29. Which historical figure do you most identify with? Can't think of one.

30. Who are your heroes in real life? The Bielksi brothers, Michael J. Fox, Stephen King, Maya Angelou, Tina Turner
31. What are your favorite names? Hannah/Anya, Lyla, Avigdor, David
32. What is it that you most dislike? Being in pain, too many people, white noise.

33. What is your greatest regret? Not feeling like I managed proper goodbyes to people who've died.

34. How would you like to die? I want to lie down to sleep and not wake up.
35. What is your motto? Gd's in charge.

***

I'd write more, but this seems like a good place to stop for tonight.

I'm listening to The Guess Who: American Woman

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06