Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

A hard day, dragging my non-functional body around - 2009-05-20

I'm grateful for: Kitten, and kids, and goat kids, and chickens and chicks and cats and dogs and goats and maybe ferrets or guinea pigs (cavey); having the hands-free dingus available for the cell phone; a baked potato with cheese and butter, and a pear and dried kiwi and Pepsi-cola. Silliness.

I didn't know if I'd be able to type anything tonight, Kitten is in my room, Peppito is barking his fool head off in TH's room (I hope).

We made the decision, finally, that Peppito has to go. It is a sad decision, not so much because we want him, but because the odds are against our finding any place else to place him. Which means he may have to be killed, put to sleep, got out of the way. Poor Peppito, it is not his fault. He is blind, he appears to have suffered some sort of brain damage in addition, his sense of smell isn't quite right. He doesn't get along with any of the other animals. Not the other dogs, not the cats, goats or chickens. He barks all the time, driving us crazy. We can't seem to teach him anything - and in addition Samantha, the puppy (who is about four times his size) follows him, so when he does bad things, she joins in.

He has to go. I feel horrible about it, but I would feel just as horrible, or even more so, if I continued to try to live with him. He has no chance of surviving on his own. So, he's a sweet little blind dog (he really is sweet, in terms of getting on with humans), who would be a wonderful animal for a shut-in with a small garden, or something like that. I'm not giving up, yet, but it's just not that likely.

In other less-than-happy news, the booms have started again. One person was injured in Sderot, shrapnel, and the IDF bombed tunnels. The booms here are loud and disturbing, especially when we didn't yet know what was going on. It's a weird world when we bomb smuggling tunnels to punish them for attacking us. Apparently no one was hurt or killed in the bombing of tunnels.

I'm glad we are fighting back in some way - it's better than not fighting back. But it's not terribly effective, and does more to disturb my life than when they are throwing bombs over the border - at least until one of us is injured...

Yeah, so, on a happier note I am absolutely thrilled that bornearly has gotten her house. She doesn't have it yet, but she will. Squeeee!! I don't know why I am taking it so personally, unless it is because TH and I went through a very similar process of buying our first home in Warren MA.

When we went to check the place out, the very first time, I just had a feeling that I was meant to be there. It was SO beautiful. We saw it in February, with all the snow in the woods, and the clear, clean, cold air. The house needed a mountain of work, but it was habitable - we could live in it while we did all that work. Which was what we wanted and needed. Behind the house were woods that stretched for miles - one could hike in the woods all day and not see another person, if you went straight back from the house. Simply lovely.

That is the place we 'homesteaded.' We built a farm, and we raised all sorts of critters, and it was very lovely and happy, wonderful. Sadly it wasn't meant to last, and with M.S. and a bad marriage I wasn't as happy as I would have liked to be about everything that was right about the place. But it was the right place for that time, and it was wonderful. Bornearly should have such a wonderful home, and without the M.S. and abusive spouse.

So, I guess I *really* overdid it yesterday, more than I knew. I know, old news, that if I overdo then I pay for it, and the number of days of being a vegetable increase depending on how badly I did it. I had somehow lost track, again, of not hoping that, since I was doing better, I would just continue to do better. Maybe it is something that is built in, but when I am physically improving, I just can't hold onto the idea that it won't last. I KNOW the crash will come, and yet, I forget ... somehow.

Anyway, I haven't crashed, but I am quite the vegetable. I got about a load of laundry done, with a lot of help from everyone (TH, S1, D3). I burned a bunch more dvd's, and that is pretty much it. I don't think I accomplished anything to speak of today.

The weather was really gorgeous, if a little too warm. Well, too hot. I did get outside when a neighbourhood boy came by asking if he could have a goat kid to raise. We gave him one of the boys - our neighbour chastised me for not getting money for the kid, but we had to get rid of the boy goat kids anyway. The boy who took the kid is a good kid himself, and will take good care of the goat.

I went down to the yard to participate in the discussion when the boy was looking at the goats, and then stayed out to enjoy the weather, and to give Kitten a chance to romp outside. She won't really go out on her own, although once I am outside she will go quite far exploring.

TH and I drove (okay, he drove, I rode) into Be'er Sheva to get S2''s repaired backpack, and did a spot of grocery shopping at a store that was having a huge sale on things like branflakes (S2's favourite), and Haagen Dazs ice cream. We rarely get Haagen Dazs because it's hard to find and Ben & Jerry's is so much cheaper here. That makes it a special treat.

Back home, TH and I played a rail game, and that's pretty much it. Kitten has been 'nursing' on me, nuzzling and biting and kneading and purring her head off. It is so sweet, and so sad. That she doesn't have a cat mother, I mean. She brightens up my whole life, though, so I can't be too sad.

I have to get some sleep. It's about 3am. S2 phoned twice after midnight, so it's a good thing I didn't get to sleep at a decent hour I guess. Now my eyes are burning and I really can't keep on.

The other thing I stayed up for is the laundry. When it's hot like this, we dry whatever we can on the line, but some things have to go in the dryer. I do that in the middle of the night whenever possible. Kitten 'helped' me move the laundry to the dryer just a little bit ago. So many things would be easier if I didn't like kids and animals. But then, what would be the point?

I must sleep. There's all kinds of good thing going on around me - S1 got a birthday poem from an online reader of his fantasy stories. D2 is spending time with her nada-fiancee. D3 and S3 had riding lessons and a wonderful time I hear. There's enough money to pay the bills, and I don't have to get up or go anywhere tomorrow. Whew!

Now if I can only get some sleep... if that will even do any good...

I'm listening to AySel & Arash: Always. The Azerbaijani Eurovision song contest entry.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06