Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Music, dresses, and fun. - 2009-05-26

I'm grateful for: doing more, having more fun; my lovely Kitten lying next to me; clean sheets and it's not too terribly hot in here tonight.

Today was another full to bursting sort of day. One thing I forget to write yesterday - I was knitting again. It felt/feels so good to be able to do that. None today, but I was just too busy.

And, having said that, it's hard to remember just what I was so busy doing. Schoolwork with S3, getting things ready for the food pickup tomorrow (I forgot/didn't have time to look up the address on a map - I sincerely hope it isn't too hard to find. *sigh* Jerusalem. *sigh*).

I read a bunch, and cleaned a bit. Laundry got done. The power went out - well, some part of the big 40amp house fuse, the one connected to the mainline from the electric company, melted. I didn't see it myself, but it must've been pretty impressive. TH went to Netivot and picked up a new fuse, but the only size he could get there was 32amp. So he got that installed and working, and we operated under severely restricted electricity for a couple of hours because the kids, D3 and S3, had their riding lessons. When TH got back from that he was able to re-install the 40amp fuse that had been here when we moved in and had never worked right. Turns out it hadn't worked right because it hadn't been installed properly, so now we are good to go. Except...

TH got a good look at the main fusebox on the pole out at the street. It would make a licensed electrician, or anyone at all really, cry. It's not just dangerous, it's crazy. Well, what can we do? Even if we owned the house, that box belongs to the power company. What to do? Pray a whole lot, just at first. We can't call the power company about this, only the landlord can. And he won't. So... there it is.

TH and I went out shopping, but first tried to get S1's glasses repaired. Two stops later we had his glasses fixed, plus about half the things we'd gone out for - a win, really. And we got home too late and I forgot to phone the kids' riding teacher to tell them that they would be participating in the riding show next Friday. And a whole lot of other stuff lost, forgotten, or accomplished but where were my brains?

Sometimes functioning can be harder than not functioning.

So I'm going to sleep now. I hope. It's just after 1am and I have to be up a 7am, and hopefully not just awake but able to shower and look up warehouses on Israeli road maps and all that fun stuff. Wish me luck, please, tomorrow is just too full a day, too. Yeaaa!

Oh, just remembered one thing accomplished today. I have three dresses. That's right, three. That fit me, that are comfortable and suitable to the climate here and modest. They are rayon, and I bought them at some little shop in Florida five years ago. Today TH and I tracked down the importer who sells them in the states, and she will send me samples of the colours and I will soon have new dresses!!! Yeaaa!!! This makes me SO very happy!

I am SO tired. ;-) And listening to music. What a lovely day.

I'm listening to World Party: Kingdom Come

On a completely other note, yesterday I was listening to my music on shuffle, as I usually do, and it was all oldies all the time. The Carpenters, and Donna Summer (from the '60s and '70s), and The Kinks, and I can't remember them all. Fun and funny. That would have been a more interesting note if I'd been able to remember more of the artists or any of the songs. Oh, well...

Now I'm listening to 2pm playing Tetris. :-)

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06