Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

No more like today, please - 2009-06-09

I'm grateful for: a real possibility of Peppito leaving here; my beautiful sleeping Kitten; surviving one incredibly difficult day.

I wrote an entry last night. It took the better part of all night. Then I just threw it away. Nothing awful, it's just how it went.

I 'woke up' this morning to some pretty big 'booms.' Since I was up pretty much all night, I wasn't woken up from sleep, but trust me, after a big boom or two - I'm Awake. I checked the news sites, all of them, no news. So that meant we weren't suddenly at war again. I was a bit 'turbed - not scared, but it would've been nice to know what was going on. Then the tzeva adom beeper went off. That's the missile alert box we all have (well, almost all) in our homes down here. It turns out there was some excitement across the border - I still don't know all the details, I found out pretty much all I know from what S2 was told when he got back to base. Yup, the army keep their still-wet-behind-the-ears recruits informed better than those of us (possibly) being bombed. Whee, fun!

Anyway, as it turns out, the tzeva adom today was our local security dude (in a larger community he'd be head of security, here, he's it)) notifying us that הכל יהיה בסגר - it will all be all right. Still, I could have gone for more information.

For what it's worth, what S2 heard was that the Golani brigade had responded to an attack, and gone across the border 'in hot pursuit.' Not very much detail in that, is there? And it doesn't answer what exactly were the booms. Were they the attack? Were they our soldiers blowing things up in response? Enquiring minds really want to know.

Ah, well. In a 'real' war, the people on the ground are the very last to know the big picture, so I guess we are actually pretty well informed, all things considered.

One of the reasons I didn't sleep last night was S2 leaving at 4:20 to get back to his base. He's at a base far in the north, about as far as you can get from here and not be in the Golan. He has to be back to tsomet Golani (an intersection where the busses go) by 10am. On Sundays the bus companies run express busses from spots all over specifically for soldiers returning to base, but on Monday S2 was stuck taking whatever local bus they run. He made it on time in terms of when he had to be at base, but not on time for the bus schedule, the bus was rather late. Which is one reason why he takes such an early bus. Is there anywhere in the world where busses actually arrive where they are supposed to when they are supposed to regularly?

Once S2 and TH left, I had a wakeful, spazzing Kitten who went outside to play, which wouldn't have been a problem, except that the dogs got up, too. I was alone coping with all four dogs and Kitten and Willow (a grown cat we adopted as a Kitten from Ginot Shomron). Chamudah was no problem, and Balta nearly so. But Samantha was in the house because S1 was sleeping in the family room (he's sick), and she is still a puppy. A HUGE puppyl I don't even want to talk about Peppito, other than to say that when it was finally a decent hour, I phoned TH and told him that that puppy must go. As soon as possible.

It's not about me being mad at him or anything, it is simply that I cannot manage him by myself, there is no way. We can't have an animal that requires someone (else) to be here at all times. Today S1 and D3 went to work at BZ's (don't ask) and so it was just me and S3 here. Again, I have to have a household I can reasonably manage.

The good news about that is that the woman who originally brought Peppito into our orbit (TF) seems willing to take him back while another home is searched for. That would make S3 happy, as he could visit Peppito sometimes if he ends up staying by the F's.

Dangling prepositions. Yeesh.

We all survived, despite it being a hard day and me being pretty sleepy. S3 and I managed to do some schoolwork, and D3 read Hebrew with me. I'm also working on some Hebrew flashcards that RS found online. I think I've mentioned them before. They are helping me more with spelling than anything, but that counts, doesn't it?

And of course repetition never hurts.

TH and I enjoyed watching Dr. Who, The Aztecs this evening around supper. He had a wedding to go to, one he couldn't miss (I could've gone if I was physically up to it), so he took off again.

No laundry got done today, S1 is still sick, and S2 reports that he is sick, too. I may have upset BZ unintentionally, and if I wanted a better relationship with her I would try to make an amends, but the truth is, I'm happy enough if she wants nothing to do with me. It will vanish from her consciousness soon enough.

I'm glad most days aren't at all like this one.

D2 went to look at a new apartment. If it works out she'll pay about 200shekel more a month in rent but quite possibly save more than that it bus fare. Also it would save hours of her life which at present are spent on busses and waiting for busses. The apartment is in Ramat Gan, which means she wouldn't see TH for lunches or be quite so easy to get to, but clearly it would be an improvement. Also, she'd be sharing an apartment with two other girls. I really prefer her not to be living alone, and the bedroom she would have is bigger than her whole apartment right now, not that that's hard.

The wedding festivities are continuing here on the moshav. The wedding was in Netivot and is over, but the drunken party-ers are back, blasting music, shouting, and generally acting as if the party is still on.

Some people pulled up to drop our neighbour off and set the dogs off something awful. It's not just that they were loud, they were deliberately baiting Balta from the other side of the fence. Balta is a good dog and a good watchdog. *sigh* She's in the house now, and things are quiet at our end. I wonder how long until things quiet down next door?

I fell asleep, hard, around nine o'clock, and slept until about midnight. Now I am feeling somewhat wide awake, but I know I will be sleepy again soon. I just hope I can sleep.

Tomorrow is S2's 'swearing in' ceremony. It's up at Acco (Acre), so TH and I are leaving about 4.5 hours to drive there - to allow for getting lost and all. It's taking place at a museum in Acco, so we will probably try to get in some site-seeing as well. If we'd come here as tourists we'd have seen more of the country than we have living here for almost five years. We can't bring the kids along, because the car is too small, and spending as much as nine hours together in that too small car is simply not on. S1 said he wants to come, and I feel really bad that we can't bring him. But I certainly can't leave D3 and S3 home alone for that long, and I can't send them by someone else on the moshav and leave all the animals including Kitten here alone for hours as well.

Once Peppito is gone it becomes possible, especially if we can leave Samantha loose. We'll have to see how that goes. Poor Kitten, the first time we leave her home alone without people is going to be very hard on her.

Kitten is asleep on my bed right now, managing to take up enough of a queen size bed that there isn't room for me to sleep. Isn't it amazing how they do that? I'd move her if necessary, but I'm not anywhere close to sleepy yet.

We're getting better at all this stuff. Living in Israel, relationship, coping with animals and older kids. It's far from perfect - maybe it's not even good enough. But it's better.

I'm going to give up on typing anymore, or I'll end up deleting this one, too.

I'm listening to Radio Symphony Orchestra Ljubljana - Cond. Anton Nanut: Der Abschied - from Das Lied von der Erde

I'm just about the only person I know anymore who listens to opera. *sigh*

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06