Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Summer cold - 2009-06-10

I'm grateful for: things being quiet while I am miserably sick; S1 getting his laundry done today; being a bit, if only just a teeny big, more laid back, and calm.

I woke up today very, very sick. I know there are worse things than a summer cold, but just now it's hard to think like that. It's kind of hard to think at all.

I can't think of anything else to write.

I found out more about the booms on Monday. Apparently it was a rather huge cross-border attack at three points. Mind you, think about that in terms of if, say, Mexico attacked the U.S. across the border at three points, or more to the point Germany attacked France. Yeah. Um, so where was I?

Oh, yes, we weren't being attacked in (yet another) act of war - that's right. Three or four organizations were involved including Hamas (which, as the governing body in Gaza is, seriously, the gub'ment, not just a bunch of wackos with guns. A LARGE bunch of wackos with BIG guns. *wry grin*) The intention was to kill and/or capture soldiers from the Golani brigade who were patrolling the border. Oh, yeah, WHY we put up a fence between us and them. Anyway, the attack was at three points, Nahal Oz (pronounced with a long 'o'), Nir Oz and Karni. Karni is, what 2 or 3 km from here, and that was the big attack.

The news types say the thinking was that it would be a huge sign of solidarity with Hizbullah and to celebrate Hizbullah's victory in the Lebanese elections. Well, that fizzled. First of all, no Hizbullah victory, and second of all the score was four of them dead, none of ours killed or captured.

*I* might say that's one for the good guys, but we all know how biased (and evil) I am.

Think of another country on the planet that would be attacked like that and it not be a full-scale war. Or stomp, rather, if the inequalities in armies were marked. Of course the news reports started off with the most important bit of news, that four Palestinians had been killed. But, there you go.

They had the battle helicopters firing at the morter-launching squads, and that's the part that makes my heart go pitter-pat. I wish there was video. The battle helicopters always make me happy. Yes, I recognize it's a sickness. What can you do?

It's been quiet around the house. TH took S3 up north, and even the animals have been mostly calm. I say 'mostly' as Peppito has just now set up a most annoying bark in my room. For no reason I can see, but then I am not a neurologically challenged blind dog.

What I am is tired. I really wish I could sleep. Maybe I'll get lucky tonight. D3 will take Kitten into her room, and if it cools off and my sinuses will permit me to breathe lying down, then I'm good to go. A lot of hope there. *sigh*

Well, I won't be sick forever.

That's enough garbage for one day. Maybe a little sleep, maybe a little bit of recreation, and maybe I'll feel better enough tomorrow to do the grocery shopping. A person can hope. Laundry, too.

I'm listening to Harold Dorman: Mountain of Love.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06