Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Next day - 2009-06-11

I'm grateful for: feeling a bit better; a handy husband; summer not being so bad (so far) this year.

It's 2:45pm-ish and I'm just starting to get going for the day. I did sleep some, and I do feel a bit better. I talked to D2 yesterday about the cold, and she said that summer colds don't just feel worse because it's hot outside, that the germs that can get you sick in the warm weather are way stronger (more powerful) than normal winter cold germs. So, hey! I got SuperGerm! ;-)

I am so proud...

But anyway, was woken up today with more booms. At the Karni crossing, they fired at us, we returned fire. We shoot better than they do (thank GD!). Since it's so close, I could go up on a roof and watch the show with a pair of field glasses. It's probably best that I don't.

It is worrisome. I don't imagine it will break out into full-scale war anytime soon (because if it did we would once again be the 'bad guys' and fighting off international judgment and disapproval for daring to respond appropriately to these provocations), but it looks like we could be returning to the more laissez-faire times of rockets and mortars coming at odd times across the border at whatever trajectory random chance provides.

It's a sad statement, but I'd almost rather be sitting on the target that they are aiming at - the odds aren't actually better, but it can feel that way.

The dryer which stopped working appears to be working again. Whatever else can be said about TH, he's handy to have around the house (at least when he can be got to do something). He pulled the dryer out, took it apart, put it back together and *bingo* a working appliance! He was in much demand around the yishuv for his expertise when we lived in Ginot Shomron. Of course they were all anglos. What is it about anglo-Israelis that none of them can figure out which is the working end of a screwdriver? TH excepted, of course. Here, on a Moroccan moshav, there is no shortage of handy-men. They may not always know what they are doing, but a half dozen of them will stand around looking at a broken piece of machinery for half a day, examining and occasionally tightening a nut, and talking knowledgeably about the latest piece of village gossip. Proper handy-men. :-)

I have shopping to do, and I feel almost human enough to give it a try. I am going to see if TH can do the driving, though, because I really am barely functional. Better to have someone who is healthy behind the wheel of the car.

The evil neighbour, BZ, managed to completely upset and piss-off S1 enough that he has sworn he will never work for her again. D3 had already taken that oath. I don't know what she said or did - S1 said she was completely insane, raving even. He got paid (which we were not entirely sure would happen) and came home and declared he wanted a drink. I gave him chocolate, and all seems to be okay.

TH has found a fellow who it seems is willing to 'invest' in our buying the house. He would put up the down payment, and we would pay him back in a lump sum with interest in three to five years. I don't know where we would come up with the money in three to five years that we can't manage to come up with now, and I can't even imagine that we would be able to save that much in that time. But, TH is extremely positive about it all, and Israel is a land of miracles. So, if it is meant to work out, then it will work out. And, in the meantime, we would own our own home again. I can't tell you what a difference that would make.

You can, in Israel, rent a home for years and have it be a home and secure and all of that, but that is not reliable. Far too common are stories of people who are renting a place and discover suddenly that the landlord's cousin's daughter needs an apartment and you have to be out. Or, well, no need to go on. And if our landlord dies we have absolutely no chance of buying the place from his assorted children - they are just the sort of family to argue amongst themselves for years while the house stands empty, and goes to rack and ruin, because Reuvain wants the place for himself, and the rabbi wants to sell the place, and the daughter refuses to take sides and... Yes.

So, I don't know what will happen. I do hope that either we can buy this place, or we can find someplace else that will actually be a home for us. I am really tired of insecure living. Actually, in Israel, no one actually 'owns' their place anyway, everything belongs to the government and you 'own' it on a 99 year lease.

Just got a phone call from D2, she wants me to bring my mri photos to her school tomorrow, so she can show people my abnormal brain pictures. I'm so excited to be useful! :-7

*sigh* What can you do?

I have to wait for my internet connection to come back to submit this page, so I'm just continuing to type waiting for the router to come online. One thing we want after buying the house is to upgrade the electricity that the landlord absolutely and point blank has refused since we moved in. It goes out at random intervals, throwing a circuit-breaker, and then the whole home network has to reboot. Fun for the whole family. Especially when it takes out the (electric) oven.

Okay, I'm back. Have a good day, I hope, and if you can't have a good day, at least give someone some hell.

I'm listening to D3 complaining about Columbo reruns.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06