Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

I will not be moved - 2009-06-17

I'm grateful for: a goat sold to a good home (we can really use the money); more photos processed on the 'puter; a day with no special obligations.

I put some more photos up on my fotolog today. They don't show immediately because I post them by the date they were taken, so they end up back a page or six. Just thought I'd mention for people who like photos. For whatever reason, using fotolog works for me, and the various things I've tried to put photos into my diary here simply haven't. Such is life.

I'm listening to -- Tzeva Adom

***

So there I was, finishing off the entry when the tzeva adom (missile alarm) went off. S1 and the youngers dove under the house, I went and stood in our tiny, relatively protected hallway. Protected as long as the bombs are coming at us sideways.

We're all okay, but the alert was different this time - instead of beeping to warn us, and then every minute thereafter (supposed to wait in a protected area for at least five minutes after the launch, in case there are multiple rockets launched), the thing kept beeping and beeping. Then it didn't count off the minutes when it finally did stop. I don't know what that means, if anything. Since the important thing is that we got to cover in our allowed 15 seconds.

I took a photo, while driving around the moshav a couple of nights ago, of the entrance to one of the bomb shelters. This particular one has been cleaned up and made ready for occupancy, because the Thailandi who work in the fields insisted (good for them!). But it is quite far from our house. The closest bomb shelter to us is well over 15 seconds away, and in any event hasn't been cleaned and is still locked up. I will get the photo of the bomb shelter up on fotolog one of these days. Although by then this will probably have long past, and no one including me will remember this particular thought ramble.

So NOW I'm listening to Peter Tosh: Black Dignity

***

I'm just going to stop trying to end this. The alarm went again, this time with a message. *sigh* Next time I'm not getting up.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06