Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Sleep-typing - 2009-07-02

I'm grateful for: Dresses!; S1 getting what he wants; grown children - they are just great!

After checking out Mysp@ce and Twit-'er and F@cebuk and finding people on each of them (why can't they all get together in one place?) now I want nothing better than to avoid them all completely. So I am.

I wrote to the mother of the girl S1 is desperately in love with. I made no mention of girl, or S1, or anything related. I am hoping that by keeping lines of communication open S1 may be able to sometime again talk with the love of his life. If, in the meantime, he meets Another, so much the better *I* think. This is not a family I particularly want to be connected with. I have absolutely nothing against Girl, she is sweet and charming, despite her family-caused mental illness -- which is not me being nasty, she was horribly abused when small, and kept drugged and psyched pretty much since whenever she 'acted-out' (behaved appropriately in the circumstances).

Writing to the mother felt yucky, but I felt good afterward, like I'd done the right thing and gotten an unpleasant responsibility out of the way. I hope that really is how it is.

In really good S1 news, he heard from the IDF, and has a DATE! A DATE means that they have said Yes, and he will be going in sometime in the next year. The DATE is about a year from now, but S1 can request to go in sooner. I'm happy because he is happy. He wants to work the border patrol, which probably means he can be stationed near here, or at least in the south, and be home more often than not.

I'm also very proud of him. He figured out what he wanted to do, went about doing it the right way, and then managed to be patient while waiting for months for powers beyond his control to decide whether he could be allowed to move on with his life. While, recently, suffering from a broken heart.

I am SO glad I am not that young any more...

The heat here, yeah, it's bad. Not quite unbearable. We've gotten better at coping - we've got the fans set for best effect, and use the air conditioner more and make it work better for us. Still, incredible. S3 has a heat rash, a bad sign because once it starts he's going to be pretty much stuck with it until the temps drop in, Hashem willing, September. Unless for some reason this year he acclimates to the heat better than he has before.

On a positive note, I got some new dresses. Yes! It's only been six years since I got new clothes like this. Five dresses that all fit, that I like, that are appropriate to the climate, that are modest, and they come in wonderful colours. It would be worth posting a photo, but as yet I'm not up to that. Maybe I never will be, who knows? For now, no.

Today I wore a rush purple with light blue dragon flies. Tomorrow I may wear dark green with multi-coloured lizards, or a pretty, brown-ish, batik print. Or ... I love having choices!!! I've literally been wearing, with few exceptions, the same three dresses since we made aliyah. I've bought clothes occasionally, but they have never worked out. I am happy. Happy, happy, happy. I'll even act like it, if I ever get any sleep.

Still not sleeping. I can't figure it out, I can't do anything about it. I am unbelievably tired of wandering around with big heavy bags under my eyes. The bags don't help. Anyway, not sleeping. Will mention it to the acupuncturist again next week, or the week after, or whenever I see him next, for all the good it will do. *sigh*

S2 is home already for the weekend. That makes it one long weekend. I am happy, S2 is happy. He is even going to go grocery shopping with us tomorrow, and do some of the driving, allowing TH to stay home and work and we none of us need to stress about it. THAT part, I am looking forward to. Being out in the hottest part of the day? Not so much.

D2 is coming home for the weekend again also. Busy, busy, busy and broke, broke, broke. We're going to try to get to the swimming pool Friday morning, but that is already so far in the future I can't think about it.

Kitten is mending well. I really wish we could let her go outside, as she has drawn blood on, I think, all of us except S3. Another day or two of her indoors is going to be hard on all of us.

Friends from the other side of the moshav, mom plus four kids, stopped by this evening for a short visit. It was really nice. I got to hold the baby, still basically newborn, she's holding her head up pretty good. Her husband, needing money, took a job in Tel Aviv, and now she is home alone with the four kids and no car every day for thirteen or fourteen hours. Rough. I wish we could do stuff to help, but there just isn't any play in our lives right now. Hopefully sometime soon, though? We can hope.

TH went to work today, brought S3 to visit his friend in Bareqet. S2 took the train to Petakh Tikvah and so TH brought them all home together sometime after six. It was quite quiet. I didn't get much done, but S1 and S2 and I each got some laundry done, which is a blessing.

I can't think of anything else, and I am typing in my sleep - even though I am technically awake, my brain isn't - so I'm off at 4am. Be well, all, and Gd bless

I'm listening to the fan, and the keys, and that's all.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06