Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

It's for Sunday night - 2009-07-09

I'm grateful for: getting the bits sorted out; another major life event almost over; my wonderful, lovely, brilliant, helpful, loving and responsible children.

Barring some sort of major catastrophe/interference, I am leaving for Las Vegas (it really sounds like a movie) at about 7pm Sunday. Oy. I arrive, due to the wonders of time zones, around midnight Sunday night/Monday morning in New York, having spent around 12 hours squished into a cramped seat on a plane. I suppose I should be grateful that it is a direct flight. *sigh*

I'm scared.

Not about the flying. Flying, no problem. Not about anything I can pinpoint. It is so new and different. I am traveling by myself for the first time in - how long? I will be spending about two weeks away from my kids. I haven't been away from someone I gave birth to for more than twenty four hours for the last twenty three years.

I have no doubt there will be an awful lot good about it. A part of me is already swelling with the joy of being Free! - Free! - Free! How much joy it will be I have yet to find out. I'm also nervous about traveling alone, as it's been even longer than that since I have gotten on a plane by myself. Not since before I was married, I think. Not that traveling alone with one or two babies was such a treat, but, I always had company.

There is the disability thing. I'm worried as heck and I don't know whether to bring the wheel chair or not, and what I should do with it when I am not sitting in it (use it as a walker?) or when I AM sitting in it (wait for someone to offer to help?).

There is the money thing. We'll be charging the tickets and then trusting, somehow, that money will come from somewhere to pay for it all. I am still planning on selling my 'rock,' but never having done anything like this before I am not willing to really trust that I will be able to do it and that I will get enough money out of it to cover the expenses. I do know better than to even hope to get the appraised value for the ring. I simply can't afford to sell it for less than half of what I paid for it, but whoever is buying it from me is going to need to be able to make a decent mark-up. The flight from Israel at least I can put on an Israeli credit card and pay back in shekels over time. The stuff I have to pay dollars for is the stuff that is worrying. I just haven't got that kind of money.

And of course there is the people thing. I doubt I will have to deal with mother, or most of the 'horrible' people. They've been doing a good enough job of driving RS off that it seems as if there may be only one person from Lloyd's group of friends we will have anything to do with. I have to say, the one seems like a lovely person all 'round. I wonder what is wrong with her? *wry grin*

We should be able to pick up the ashes on Tuesday (cross your fingers, we don't want to stay in Las Vegas a second longer than we have to), and we haven't even a plan as to what we do after that. General ideas, like, going to social security to show them the death certificate, and getting to a bank for the same errand. There are a few other things to take care of as well. And, barring some sort of really quick miracle from the V.A., we end up paying for the whole thing ourselves. We are definitely doing it on the cheap. Ultra cheap. It is still outside of our actual resources.

Packing should be fun. At least I know what I have to bring and what I will need to buy there. Underwear. One very good thing about getting to the U.S. is being able to buy underwear that fits and doesn't give me a rash. Sometimes it is the little things in life, you know?

I hope I will have a couple of days at least to haunt Salvation Army stores and Goodwill, and flea markets and pawn shops and all those sorts of good places for nifty stuff. It's got to be cheap because I'm poor, and it's got to be used so I don't have to pay any taxes on it. I am seriously considering buying some Scotch duty-free - and then not drinking it. What am I, crazy?

I need to buy all sort so little things like barrettes and bandaids and maybe (Hashem willing?) a new trackball, and maybe even (dare I hope) a new computer? I've been told, it's even been written up in the papers, that the amount you save buying a computer in the U.S. will pay for the cost of the plane ticket. The only headache? I can't get a keyboard with the Hebrew letters. Whatever, I can't see how I'm going to come up with the money for one, even at the lower prices in the States, unless Lloyd turns out to have had some significant chunk of change in his bank account. Yeah, right. I'm not holding my breath for sure.

Changing the subject, my Kitten is simply adorable for sure. She has a small infection, I think I already wrote about that. I forgot about cleaning it out today with all of the other stuff going on, and so around midnight armed with betadine and cotton balls, D3 and S1 and I squeezed the pus out and lightly washed it. I didn't inject the betadine into the hole like the vet said, I was in no way up to it, but the pus looked good (clear/white, no odour) and she didn't seemed bothered by it at all. She is curled up at my feet right now. I am going to miss her, and I fear she is going to really miss me. My lovely Kitten.

Today TH and S3 and I drove to Bareqet for our visiting. A delightful time was had. TH just hung out, and napped the littlest bit. My friend and I just jabbered back and forth, enjoying each other's company. We don't always get along beautifully, but we are able to be completely relaxed and at ease with each other, something that is quite special and enjoyable for us. S3 also had a great time. It was hard to leave.

We brought Kitten with us, but it was an unsuccessful visit for her, as the many small children kept getting in her face and she spent almost all the time hiding behind the sofa. She did get some sardines out of it, so it clearly wasn't a total loss. Also, she is starting to enjoy car rides. The hard part is getting her INto the car. Other than that she is no problem at all. We put her in a carrier, which she goes into quite willinglly, to get her into the car and all is well. What a Kitten.

I have loads and loads more, but it is almost 5am and my fingers are giving out. The important thing, after all, is that the day is over, we have a plan, and in just a few weeks this will all be over (except the paying for it). *sigh*

I'm listening to Everton Blender: Lift Up Your Head

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06